The 2008-2009 Champions Hockey League Qualification is a single, round-robin tournament that will be played September 12-14 in Nuremburg, Germany. Three club teams, which were the regular season winners from the nations ranked fifth to seventh according to the 2008 IIHF Club Ranking will take part:


HC Kosice (Slovakia)

SC Bern (Switzerland)

Sinupret Ice Tigers Nuremberg (Germany)

The winner of the tournament is qualified for the 2008-2009 Champions Hockey League Group Stage and will play in Group B with HV71 Jönköping (Sweden) and the Espoo Blues (Finland), which begins on October 8th.

Three points are awarded for a win and no points for a loss. No game shall end in a tie.

Should a game be tied after regular time, a game winning shot competition (“shootout”) is staged to determine the winner. There will be no additional overtime period. Each team is to be awarded with one point for the draw. The winner of the shoot-out will be awarded with one extra point.

Each team must select three different shooters to compete in the game winning shot competition. If the game is still tied after three shots by each team, the GWS will continue with a tie-break shootout by one player of each team, with a reversed shooting order. The same or new players can take the tie-break shots. The same player can also be used for each shot by a team in the tie-break. Only the decisive goal will count in the result of the game.

If two teams are tied in the standings at the end of the qualification, the result of the game between those teams will count.

If three teams are equal in points, the following tie-breaking criteria shall apply:

  1. Overall goal differential
  2. Higher number of goals scored for
  3. CHL ranking
Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy