South Africa wins qualifier

Participants for 2009 IIHF InLine Hockey Worlds complete

JOHANNESBURG – South Africa won the best-of-two qualification series against Namibia and qualified for the 2009 IIHF InLine Hockey World Championship, which will be held in Ingolstadt, Germany, June 6-13.

South Africa won the first game one week ago when they celebrated a 3-2 road victory in Swakopmund, Namibia. On Saturday, the second match in Johannesburg, South Africa, ended 1-1.

Both teams took part in the 2007 InLine World Championship but were both relegated. At that time, Namibia was the better team and won the mutual game 8-3.

South Africa and Chinese Taipei replace the relegated teams from Bulgaria and New Zealand.

Groups of the Top Division:
Group A: Sweden (1), USA (4), Czech Republic (5), Canada (8).
Group B: Slovakia (2), Germany (3), Finland (6), Slovenia (7).

Groups of Division I:
Group C: Austria (9), Australia (12), Japan (13), Chinese Taipei (16).
Group D: Great Britain (10), Brazil (11), Hungary (14), South Africa (15).

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy