Canada names Women’s U18 roster

Ambrose and Fulton return for title defence

TORONTO – Hockey Canada announced Tuesday the 20 players who have been chosen to represent Canada at the 2011 IIHF World Women’s U18 Championship, which runs January 1-8 in Stockholm, Sweden.

The roster was finalized following a selection camp featuring 31 of the top young female hockey players in the Canada, held in Toronto, December 17-19. Head coach Sarah Hodges, assistant coaches France Montour and Cassandra Turner, and Hockey Canada scouts led by Melody Davidson, Hockey Canada’s head scout of women’s national team programs, selected the roster based on a series of practices and intrasquad Red-White games that took place during the three-day camp, as well as player performances at events such as the National Women’s Under-18 Championship.

Canada’s 20-player roster for the 2011 IIHF World Women’s U18 Championship include two goaltenders, six defencemen and 12 forwards. Defenceman Erin Ambrose and forward Emily Fulton return to the roster after helping Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team win its first-ever gold medal at the 2010 IIHF World Women’s U18 Championship by beating the United States 5-4 in overtime in Chicago last April. The United States won the first two women’s U18 gold medals, in 2008 and 2009.

“All of the players that attended our selection camp in Toronto are talented athletes and promising young women who will succeed in whatever they choose to do,” Hodges said. “We’re confident the 20 players chosen to go to Sweden for the world championship will represent their country with pride, both on and off the ice.”

Canada plays its first game at the 2011 IIHF World Women’s U18 Championship against Switzerland on Saturday, January 1, and will also play Finland and Germany in preliminary round action. The gold medal game is set for Saturday, January 8.

Canada's roster for the World Women's U18 Championship

Amanda Makela, Thunder Bay (Midget AA)
Anne-Renée Desbiens, Quebec (Midget Espoir)

Jennifer Shields, Bluewater (PWHL)
Sarah Edney, Mississauga (PWHL)
Katarina Zgraja, Kitchener-Waterloo (PWHL)
Erin Ambrose, Toronto (PWHL)
Cydney Roesler, Ottawa (PWHL)
Gina Repaci, Mississauga (PWHL)

Emily Fulton, Bluewater (PWHL)
Gabrielle  Davidson, Dawson College (CGEP)
Shelby Bram, Eastman (Midget AA)
Katie Josephs, Highwood (AMMFHL)
Meghan Dufault, Pursuit of Excellence (Midget AAA)
Sarah Robson, Etobicoke (PWHL)
Nicole Kosta, Mississauga (PWHL)
Cayley Mercer, Bluewater (PWHL)
Hailey Browne, Mississauga (PWHL)
Rebecca Kohler, Bluewater (PWHL)
Sarah MacDonnell, Brewster Academy (U.S. Prep)
Laura Stacey, Toronto (PWHL)

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy