Start for Canadian girls

Coaches, players named for U18 women’s team


Olivia Knowles is among the returnees from last year with Canada's U18 women's national team. Photo: Jana Chytilova / HHOF-IIHF Images

CALGARY – Hockey Canada has named the coaching staff of the U18 women’s national team and invited 43 players for the selection camp that will be held from 7 to 14 August in Calgary followed by a three-game series against the United States 17-21 August.

Six goaltenders, 12 defenceman and 25 forwards will be split into two teams, Blue and Gold, which will participate in several practices and three intrasquad games, as well as off-ice dryland training, fitness testing and classroom sessions.

Of the 43 players invited to selection camp, 23 will be selected to play for Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team in a three-game series against the United States in Calgary.

Following the series, Hockey Canada scouts, along with the team’s coaching staff, will continue to evaluate players with their provincial and club teams during the 2016/17 season, including at the 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship in Regina 9-13 Nov., in preparation for selecting the Canadian team that will compete at the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship, 7-14 Jan. 2017, in Prerov and Zlin, Czech Republic.

Troy Ryan (Hockey Canada) will serve as head coach of Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team, with assistant coaches Delaney Collins (Okanagan Hockey Academy, CSSHL) and Cara Morey (Princeton University, ECAC), and goaltending coach Amanda Mazzotta (Quinnipiac University, ECAC).

Ryan is the Atlantic Canada female coach mentor with the Canadian Sport Centre Atlantic. He served as head coach of Team Atlantic at the 2015 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, and has also been behind the bench at the Canada Winter Games (men’s and women’s hockey), World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, World Junior A Challenge, and RBC Cup.

Collins joined the Okanagan Hockey Academy as an assistant coach in May after five seasons with Mercyhurst University. A three-time world champion as a player (2000, 2004, 2007), Collins won silver as an assistant coach with Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team at the 2015 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship, and gold with Canada’s National Women’s Development Team at the 2016 Nations Cup.

Morey is the associate head coach of the women’s hockey team at Princeton University. A gold-medallist with Team Canada at the 2000 Nations Cup, she won gold as an assistant coach with Canada’s National Women’s Development Team at the 2015 Nations Cup.

Mazzotta just finished her first season as an assistant coach with Quinnipiac University. She played for Canada’s National Women’s Development Team (2010, 2012) and Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team (2008) before winning gold as goaltending coach with Canada’s National Women’s Development Team at the 2016 Nations Cup and silver at the 2015 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship.

Hockey Canada also announced the support staff that will work with Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team throughout the 2016-17 season, including video coach James Emery (Hockey Canada), therapist Kaitlyn Maddigan (Western University, OUA), massage therapist Meagan Cowell (Hockey Canada), Tina Atkinson (Halifax, QMJHL), strength and conditioning coach Scott Willgress (CSI Atlantic), mental skills coach Sommer Christie (Hockey Canada) and equipment manager Serge LeBlanc (Universite de Moncton, AUS).

Canada National Women’s Under-18 Team Summer Showcase

Ava Boutilier, Charlottetown (PEIMAAAHL)
Edith D’Astous-Moreau, Nepean (PWHL)
Kerigan Dowhy, Interlake (MFMHL)
Loryn Porter, Mississauga (PWHL)
Jaimie Rainville, Stoney Creek (PWHL)
Corinne Schroeder, Balmoral Hall School (JWHL)

Emma Buckles, Toronto (PWHL)
Meaghan Hector, Oakville (PWHL)
Brooke Hobson, Prince Albert (SFMAAAHL)
Ariane Julien, Stanstead College (CAHS)
Olivia Knowles, Okanagan Hockey Academy (CSSHL)
Rachel Marmen, Stoney Creek (PWHL)
Avery Mitchell, Toronto (PWHL)
Nicole Pateman, London (PWHL)
Julia Scammell, Northern (NSFMHL)
Willow Slobodzian, Saskatoon (SFMAAAHL)
Courtney Vorster, Shattuck’s St Mary’s (USHS)
Shelby Wood, Cambridge (PWHL)

Lexie Adzija, London (PWHL)
Ashton Bell, Westman (MFMHL)
Maegan Beres, North American Hockey Academy (JWHL)
Sierra Burt, Bluewater (PWHL)
Gabrielle David, Elites de l’Estrie (LHFDQ)
Kristin Della Rovere, Toronto Leaside (PWHL)
Rosalie Demers, Stanstead College (CAHS)
Nara Elia, Okanagan Hockey Academy (CSSHL)
Emmy Fecteau, Chaudiere-Ouest (LHFDQ)
Sarah Fillier, Oakville (PWHL)
Brooke Jovanovich, Oakville (PWHL)
Victoria Klimek, Oakville (PWHL)
Coralie Larose, Nepean (PWHL)
Emma Maltais, Oakville (PWHL)
Kristen McKinley, Rothesay Netherwood School (CAHS)
Brooke McQuigge, Whitby (PWHL)
Mackenna Parker, Saskatoon (SFMAAAHL)
Brette Pettet, Shattuck’s St Mary’s (USHS)
Kristy Pidgeon, Nepean (PWHL)
Amy Potomak, Pacific (JWHL)
Sophie Shirley, Okanagan Hockey Academy (CSSHL)
Alexa Vasko, Stoney Creek (PWHL)
Audrey-Anne Veillette, Elites de l’Estrie (LHFDQ)
Sarah Verbeek, Cambridge (PWHL)
Daryl Watts, Mississauga (PWHL)



New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Zetterberg can’t continue

China’s Olympic dream

Prices starting at €10

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy