Event Information
Stockholm Helsinki
Statistics Tissot

Canada names first players

22 players join team to World Championship

<- takaisin uutislistalle

Matt Duchene and Jordan Eberle are among the selected players for this year’s Team Canada at the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. Photo: Jukka Rautio / HHOF-IIHF Images

CALGARY – Hockey Canada announced a first group of 22 players to Canada’s roster for the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship.

Canada’s roster includes three goalkeepers, seven defencemen and twelve forwards. Hockey Canada can name up to 25 players to its World Championship roster up until the final day of the event.

“We have received a great response from the players that we have approached, and we are very pleased with the roster that we have assembled to date,” said national men’s team executive director Steve Yzerman. “We look forward to getting together as a team in Stockholm on May 1 and preparing for the world championship.”

Canada’s roster includes eleven players with World Championship experience, one Olympian, and 16 of the 22 players have international experience. Six players – T.J. Brodie, Brenden Dillon, Michael Garnett, Matt Read, Justin Schultz, Mike Smith – will be representing Canada in international play for a first time.

All players except of goalkeeper Michael Garnett from KHL club Traktor Chelyabinsk played in the National Hockey League this season.

Head coach Lindy Ruff will lead the coaching staff, along with assistant coaches Doug Shedden, Dave Tippett and Barry Trotz.

Hockey Canada’s National Men’s Team management group is comprised of Yzerman (Tampa Bay), along with Doug Armstrong (St. Louis), Ken Holland (Detroit), Kevin Lowe (Edmonton), Bob Nicholson (Hockey Canada) and Brad Pascall (Hockey Canada). Peter Chiarelli (Boston) will serve in an advisory capacity.

The 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship runs from May 3-19 in Stockholm, Sweden, and Helsinki, Finland. Canada will be based out of Stockholm for the duration of the event, opening on May 4 against Denmark. All of Canada’s games will be broadcast on TSN/RDS.

– with files from Hockey Canada

Canada’s preliminary roster

Devan Dubnyk, Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Michael Garnett, Traktor Chelyabinsk (KHL)
Mike Smith, Phoenix Coyotes (NHL)

T.J. Brodie, Calgary Flames (NHL)
Brian Campbell, Florida Panthers (NHL)
Brenden Dillon, Dallas Stars (NHL)
Jay Harrison, Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)
Stéphane Robidas, Dallas Stars (NHL)
Luke Schenn, Philadelphia Flyers (NHL)
Justin Schultz, Edmonton Oilers (NHL)

Matt Duchene, Colorado Avalanche (NHL)
Jordan Eberle, Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Claude Giroux, Philadelphia Flyers (NHL)
Taylor Hall, Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Andrew Ladd, Winnipeg Jets (NHL)
Ryan O'Reilly, Colorado Avalanche (NHL)
Matt Read, Philadelphia Flyers (NHL)
Wayne Simmonds, Philadelphia Flyers (NHL)
Jeff Skinner, Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)
Eric Staal, Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)
Jordan Staal, Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)
Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL)

Official Main Sponsor

Official Sponsors Actavis







Nivea for Men






Logo 1 Logo 2 Logo 3
Logo 1 Logo 2 Logo 3 Logo 4 Logo 5
Logo 1 Logo 2 Logo 4 Logo 3 Logo 5 Logo 6 Logo 7 Logo 8 Logo 9 Logo 10 Logo 11 Logo 12 Logo 13 Logo 14 Logo 15 Logo 16 Logo 17
Logo 2 Logo 3 Logo 6 Logo Logo Logo Logo Logo 14 Logo 1 Logo Logo
Logo 2 Logo Logo Logo 2 Logo Logo Logo Logo 5 Logo 5
Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy