Brazil is back

South Americans qualified for Inline Worlds


The Brazilian inline hockey national team celebrates after winning the bronze medals in 2008. Photo: Jakub Sukup

ZURICH – The Brazilian inline hockey national team returns to the IIHF Inline Hockey World Championship and completes the list of 16 participants.

Brazil was the only team entered in the Rest of the World Qualification to determine which team outside of Europe would replace Argentina, the team that was relegated last summer. Therefore Brazil becomes the last team to enter the event.

Brazil most recently played in the IIHF Inline Hockey World Championship in 2010 where it started with two wins but lost the remaining three games and was relegated. In its most successful era, the Brazilians won the Division I competition in 2007 and six Division I medals between 2003 and 2009.

Latvia replaces the other relegated team, Bulgaria, in 2014 after having won the European Qualification in August.

The 2014 IIHF Inline Hockey World Championship will be played in two tiers from 1 to 7 June 2014 at the CEZ Arena in Pardubice, Czech Republic, where the event was successfully held in 2011.

Top Division
Group A: USA (1), Slovakia (4), Czech Republic (5), Great Britain (8).
Group B: Sweden (2), Canada (3), Germany (6), Finland (7).

Division I
Group C: Slovenia (9), Australia (12), Croatia (13), Latvia (16).
Group D: Austria (10), Hungary (11), Japan (14), Brazil (15).



USA back on inline throne

Swept into final

Finland, USA play for gold

Rebuilding Brazil

Czechs check champs out

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy