Men’s Div. III begins

Six teams, free live stream


The Turkish team in front of its fans at last year’s IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division III in Izmir. Photo: Cihan Kahraman

ISTANBUL – The 2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division III begins today in Istanbul with six teams competing for promotion to the next level.

South Africa, host Turkey, Luxembourg, Hong Kong, Georgia and Bosnia & Herzegovina will play in the six-team round-robin event from 31 March until 6 April. The schedule was adjusted due to the late withdrawal of the United Arab Emirates.

One year ago DPR Korea won the tournament thanks to a 4-3 overtime win against host Turkey, then in Izmir, in front of 2,135 fans and earned promotion. They are replaced by South Africa, which was relegated from the Division II Group B. Last year Turkey won silver and Luxembourg the bronze medals.

All games will be streamed live and for free. Games of the Turkish national team will also be televised by NTV Spor and Sports TV respectively.

It’s the first men’s senior tournament of this year’s IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship program. The Division II groups will start on 9 April in Jaca (Spain) and Mexico City (Mexico) followed by the Division I Group B in Zagreb (Croatia) 17-23 April and the Division I Group A in Katowice (Poland) 23-29 April. The top division will start on 6 May with the 2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship taking place in Moscow and St. Petersburg, Russia.

Schedule, stats and live ticker
Live stream



Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Zetterberg can’t continue

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy