Olympic qualifiers in Oslo, Riga

Latvia and Norway assigned Final Olympic Qualification

ZURICH – The final two venues of the Men’s Final Olympic Qualification, February 5-8, 2009, are known. The three groups will be hosted by Germany, Latvia and Norway.

Group F with Latvia, Italy, Ukraine and a qualifier will be held in the Latvian capital of Riga.

Group G with Norway, Denmark, France and a qualifier will be hosted by Norway’s capital, Oslo.

The German ice hockey association previously announced that Hanover will host Group E with Germany, Slovenia, Austria and a qualifier.

14 more teams will play for the three remaining spots in the Final Olympic Qualification in October and November.

Canada, Russia, Sweden, Finland, the Czech Republic, the United States, Switzerland, Slovakia and Belarus are already qualified for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, Canada, as the top-nine nations according to the 2008 IIHF Men’s World Ranking.

Click here for an overview on the Olympic Qualification.



Fashion Forward

“It’s amazing what sport can do”

New World Juniors tickets

Jim Paek continues

Toronto champion

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy