Sweden names U20 team

Junior Tre Kronor games to be broadcast on SVT24


Victor Hedman as an All-Star defenceman at the 2008 World U20 Championship. Photo: IIHF/HHoF/Jukka Rautio

STOCKHOLM – The Swedish Ice Hockey Association announced its 21-man roster for the 2009 IIHF World U20 Championship in Ottawa, December 26, 2008 – January 5, 2009.

The roster includes four returnees, Victor Hedman, Joakim Andersson, Magnus Svensson Pääjärvi and Mikael Backlund, who won silver at the 2008 World U20 Championship.

Five of the Swedish players were selected in the top two round of the NHL Draft. They include Goalie Jacob Markström, defenceman Erik Karlsson, forwards Mattias Tedenby, Andersson and Backlund. There are also several players on the roster that are expected to go high in the next draft, such as Hedman, Jacob Josefson and Svensson Pääjärvi.

All team members play the regular season in Sweden with most of them in the top league, Elitserien.

During the November international break, Sweden won its exhibition tournament on home ice in Uppsala with victories over Finland, Russia and the Czech Republic. The team will play two exhibition games in Canada prior to the World U20 Championship on December 19 vs. Canada and December 23 vs. the Czech Republic.

All of Sweden’s games at the 2009 IIHF World U20 Championship will be broadcast live on SVT24. The Swedes, who lost last year’s gold-medal game to Canada in overtime, are in the same preliminary round group as Russia, Finland, Slovakia and Latvia.

Sweden’s roster

Goalkeepers: Jacob Markström (Brynäs Gävle), Mark Owuya (Djurgården Stockholm).

Defencemen: Sebastian Erixon (Timrå IK), Victor Hedman (MODO Örnsköldsvik), Erik Karlsson (Frölunda Gothenburg), Nichlas Torp (HV71 Jönköping), David Rundblad (Skellefteå AIK), Tim Erixon (Skellefteå AIK), Viktor Ekbom (Linköpings HC).

Forwards: Mattias Tedenby (HV71 Jönköping), Marcus Johansson (Färjestad Karlstad), Anton Persson (Brynäs Gävle), Joakim Andersson (Frölunda Gothenburg), André Petersson (HV71 Jönköping), Magnus Svensson Pääjärvi (Timrå IK), Mikael Backlund (VIK Västerås), Nicklas Lasu (Frölunda Gothenburg), Jacob Josefson (Djurgården Stockholm), David Ullström (HV71 Jönköping), Carl Gustafsson (Djurgården Stockholm), Simon Hjalmarsson (Borås HC).

General Manager: Tommy Boustedt, Team Manager: Staffan Tholson, Head Coach Pär Mårts, Assistant Coach: Peter Sundström, Goalie Coach: Stefan Ladhe.



“It’s amazing what sport can do”

New World Juniors tickets

Jim Paek continues

Toronto champion

Following Dad

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy