Swiss stay with four imports

Increase of import quota rejected by clubs


Imports like the league’s top scorers Kimmo Rintanen (Kloten) and Patrick Thoresen (Lugano) will be in good but limited company in the National League A. Photos: Photopress/Karl Mathis

ITTIGEN, Switzerland – The clubs of the Swiss National League A decided at a shareholders’ meeting on Wednesday to stick to the current import rules with four imports per team and game, and a contingent of eight imports per team during the season.

SC Bern applied for an increase to five and ten, respectively but it did not receive the required three-quarter majority vote.

“They’re moaning because of the increasing salaries for Swiss players. If we could replace a Swiss player with an import of the same level, clubs would save some money,” SC Bern CEO Marc Lüthi argued.

The National League B clubs unanimously agreed to keep its current two imports per team and game rule.

Schedule for 2009-2010 published

The Swiss National League already announced its schedule for 2009-2010 National League A so that clubs with multifunctional arenas can reserve ice time early.

The season begins with the derby of Ticino between HC Ambrì-Piotta and HC Lugano on September 11, 2009. Other games on day one are EHC Biel vs. Servette Geneva, HC Fribourg-Gottéron vs. SC Bern, Kloten Flyers vs. Rapperswil-Jona Lakers, SCL Tigers Langnau vs. EV Zug, and ZSC Lions Zurich vs. HC Davos. This according to the assumption that none of the 12 NLA teams team will be relegated in the promotion/relegation series.

The Olympic break will last from February 2 to March 4, 2010, before the last two rounds of the regular season will be played. In order to have 50 rounds, three groups are built – which are regionalized and not according to the previous year’s ranking anymore – in order to have the six additional matches.

The regions are:
West: Bern, Biel, Fribourg, Servette.
Central: Ambrì, Lugano, SCL Tigers, Zug.
East: Davos, Kloten, Rapperswil-Jona, ZSC Lions.

The full 2009-2010 schedule.

Swiss Ice Hockey Association to be reformed

The ice hockey parliament, the legislative arm of the Swiss Ice Hockey Association, had an assembly on Wednesday. It has 55 representatives from the National League and the Regio League, which is responsible for the junior, women’s and men’s minor leagues.
The National League has only one person in the five-man executive board of the association, which did not please the professional clubs. One person comes from the Regio League, the three others are not affiliated with the two organisations.

“We feel that we should have more influence and that we should review the current structure in Swiss hockey,” Gaudenz Domenig, the vice-president of HC Davos and chairman of the parliament, said.

The debate ended with a proposal to transform the Swiss Ice Hockey Association into a capital company, equally owned by the National League and the Regio League, for the 2009-2010 season. A new board of administration with equal representation of both organisations shall replace both the executive board as well as the ice hockey parliament. A detailed proposal for reform will be worked out and presented at the next assembly.




Kings of the garden

Groups for 2019

Tre Kronor golden again!

Power Rankings

Canada leads World Ranking

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy