Triple Gold for Vancouver?

Seven players have a chance to join the Triple Gold Club


Evergreen Sergei Fedorov, 40, is a Triple Gold Club candidate and the second-oldest player at the Olympic tournament. Photo: Jukka Rautio / HHOF-IIHF Images

Now that the 12 competing men’s teams for Vancouver have announced their rosters we can take a look at the players who expect to go to the 2010 Olympics and find some interesting tidbits of information.

We know, for instance, that Vancouver 2010 is an historic tournament for the Triple Gold Club as the first 22 members will be honoured at a special ceremony on women’s semi-finals day, February 22, 2010. Of those 22, eight will be playing in Vancouver. Sweden is represented by Peter Forsberg, Nicklas Lidstrom, Niklas Kronwall, Fredrik Modin, and Henrik Zetterberg. Canada has captain Scott Niedermayer and Chris Pronger, and the Czech Republic has Jaromir Jagr.

Seven other participating players have a chance to join the Triple Gold Club by winning gold at the Olympics. These players have all won the Stanley Cup and World Championship gold and need victory in Vancouver to join. If Russia wins gold, both Sergei Fedorov and Ilya Bryzgalov will become members of the Triple Gold Club. Ditto for Czechs Pavel Kubina and Josef Vasicek, Canada’s Eric Staal, and Finland’s Jere Lehtinen. Miroslav Satan can become the first Slovak to join the club as well.

Of the 276 players named to their respective rosters, only 79 have won one or more of the required TGC honours. In all, players have won a total of 54 World Championship gold medals and 28 Stanley Cups, and only ten have won Olympic gold. These 92 honours consist of 66 players who have won one TGC honour and 13 players who have won two.

To break that down further, 44 players have won only World Championship gold while 18 have won only the Stanley Cup and four have won a single Olympic gold.

Additionally, three players have won at the Olympics and Worlds, and another three have won the Olympics and Stanley Cup. As mentioned, seven have won the World Championship and Stanley Cup.

This means that after the Olympics, five other players could still join the Triple Gold Club this hockey season. Martin Brodeur (CAN), Tomas Holmstrom (SWE), and Samuel Pahlsson (SWE) need World Championship gold, while Jarome Iginla (Calgary Flames), Stefan Liv (SWE), and Mattias Ohlund (Vancouver Canucks) need the Stanley Cup (but Liv isn’t in the NHL and can’t win the Cup this season).

Some other facts about the rosters for Vancouver:
  • The youngest player will be Roman Josi (SUI) who won’t turn 20 until the summer.
  • The two oldest players are a pair of 40-year-olds, Sergejs Naumovs of Latvia and Sergei Fedorov of Russia. Naumovs is six months older, though, and gets the nod as the senior member of the 2010 Olympics.
  • Nine players with previous Olympic experience did not play in Turin in 2006: Rastislav Stana (SVK), Sergei Fedorov (RUS), Michal Handzus (SVK), Martin Havlat (CZE), Richard Lintner (SVK), Alexei Morozov (RUS), Zigmund Palffy (SVK), Scott Niedermayer (CAN), Marco Sturm (GER).
  • Tommy Jakobsen of Norway will be setting a record. He last played at the Olympics in 1994. No other player can claim a 16-year gap between Olympic appearances.
  • Incredibly, five players in Vancouver also played at the Canada Cup in 1991—Sergei Fedorov (URS), Jaromir Jagr (TCH), Nicklas Lidstrom (SWE), Zigmund Palffy (TCH), Teemu Selanne (FIN).
  • Some 13 players are representing countries other than the one in which they were born. Leading the way is Canada, with five players on other teams’ rosters: Stefan Liv (born POL, plays SWE), Dimitri Patzold (born URS, plays GER), Goran Bezina (born YUG, plays SUI), Dany Heatley (born GER, plays CAN), Jason Holland (born CAN, plays GER), Mikhail Grabovski (born GER, plays BLR), T.J. Mulock (born CAN, plays GER), Janne Niskala (born SWE, plays FIN), Luca Sbisa (born ITA, plays SUI), Chris Schmidt (born CAN, plays GER), Paul Stastny (born CAN, plays USA), Michael Wolf (born AUT, plays GER), John Tripp (born CAN, plays GER).




Thank you Denmark!

Stats you’ve never seen Part II

Best of ref cam

Generation conquerors

Kings of the garden

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy