Super Final in Donetsk

2012/2013 Continental Cup to be staged with 19 teams


The 2013 IIHF Continental Cup Super Final will be staged at the Druzhba Ice Palace in Donetsk, Ukraine. Photo: Valeri Dudush

BUDAPEST – At a meeting with the participating clubs, the IIHF determined the teams, groups, dates and venues for the Continental Cup.

The Ukrainian city of Donetsk will host the Super Final for the first time. The event of the final four teams will be staged 11-13 January 2013 with host Donbass Donetsk and defending champion Rouen Dragons from France being pre-qualified.

The Ice Palace Druzhba in Donetsk already hosted the 2012 IIHF Ice Hockey U20 World Championship Division II Group A and the year before an U18 World Championship group.

Two more finalists will be determined in the preliminary round that goes over three rounds and five tournaments. In total 19 teams from as many countries will participate in the Continental Cup.

Almost all teams are national champions from their countries. Additionally, there are champions from second-tier leagues of the European top nations with Toros Neftekamsk from Russia, Vaasan Sport from Finland and the Landshut Cannibals from Germany.

The two third-round tournaments that will determine the remaining two finalists will be hosted in Bolzano (Italy) and Stavanger (Norway).

A record 15 out of the 19 clubs applied to host one of the six Continental Cup tournaments and presented their bids during the annual meeting.

The second-round groups will be played in Landshut (Germany) and Vaasa (Finland) while the first round takes place in Miercurea Ciuc (Romania).

2012-2013 IIHF Continental Cup

First round, 28-30 September 2012:

Group A in Miercurea Ciuc, Romania: CH Jaca (ESP), HSC Csikszereda (ROU), Vitez Belgrade (SRB), Baskent Yildizlari Ankara (TUR).

Second round, 19-21 October 2012:

Group B in Landshut, Germany: Landshut Cannibals (GER), Belfast Giants (GBR), Eaters Geleen (NED), Winner Group A.

Group C in Vaasa, Finland: Liepajas Metalurgs (LAT), Miskolc Polar Bears (HUN), Vaasan Sport (FIN), Beibarys Atyrau (KAZ).

Third round, 23-25 November 2012:

Group D in Bolzano, Italy: Bolzano Foxes (ITA), Herning Blue Fox (DEN), Toros Neftekamsk (RUS), Winner Group B.

Group E in Stavanger, Norway: Metallurg Zhlobin (BLR), Stavanger Oilers (NOR), KH Sanok (POL), Winner Group C.

Super Final, 11-13 January 2013:

Group F in Donetsk, Ukraine: Rouen Dragons (FRA), Donbass Donetsk (UKR), Winner Group D, Winner Group E.

The delegates at the annual Continental Cup meeting in Budapest decided about the groups and hosts of the 2012-2013 IIHF Continental Cup. Photo: Luzia Baldauf



Dahlin goes first as expected

The Next Pettersson?

Continental Cup set

Hungry for more

McDavid named top NHLer

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy