Clarkson Cup to Boston

Blades win Canadian Women’s Hockey League


The Boston Blades celebrate their first Clarkson Cup title. Jess Desjardins / CWHL

MARKHAM, Canada – The Boston Blades beat the Montreal Stars 5-2 on Saturday afternoon to win their first-ever Clarkson Cup title in the five-year history of the tournament.

More than 1,300 fans filled the stands at Centennial Community Centre to take in all the action of the championship game, and over the course of the week close to 10,000 spectators came to watch  the 2013 Clarkson Cup, presented by Scotiabank, and awarded annually to the Canadian Women’s Hockey League champions.

The Montreal Stars were the two-time defending Clarkson Cup champions coming into this year’s tournament, having defeated Brampton 4-2 last season in Niagara Falls, Ont., and shutting out Toronto 5-0 the year before that in Barrie, Ont. The Montreal Stars also won the 2009 Clarkson Cup, beating Minnesota 3-1 in Kingston, Ont.  
Besides Montreal and now Boston, the only other team to win a Clarkson Cup since it has been awarded to the championship-winning team of the CWHL was Minnesota, who  shut out Brampton 4-0 at the 2008 event in Richmond Hill, Ont.
In Saturday’s championship game at the Centennial Community Centre, Boston’s Jen Schoullis opened the scoring at 10:18 on an assist from Kacey Bellam at 10:18 in the first. Schoullis added another, again from Bellamy, to make it 2-0 for Boston at 3:15 in the second. But Meghan Agosta-Marciano narrowed the gap to 2-1 just over 30 seconds later and Dominique Thibault tied it up at 8:09 in the middle frame to continue the fast-paced, back-and-forth action on both sides of the ice.
However, Kelley Steadman added one at 11:09 in the second, another at 17:06 in the third and an empty-netter in the last minute of the game for a natural hat trick, and to seal the 4-2 victory over the Montreal Stars – and the 2013 Clarkson Cup.
The Clarkson Cup itself was awarded to the Boston Blades by Madame Clarkson and CWHL commissioner Brenda Andress. The 2013 Clarkson Cup, the fifth annual Canadian Women’s Hockey League Championship presented by Scotiabank, kicked off Wednesday, March 20. Earlier this week, Boston edged Toronto 3-2 and Montreal blanked Brampton 5-0 on Wednesday, Boston shut out Brampton 2-0 and Montreal shut out Toronto 2-0 on Thursday, while both games went into overtime for an exciting end to preliminary action Friday, as Montreal beat Boston 1-0 and Toronto edged Brampton 4-3.
The Montreal Stars claimed first place in the preliminary round with six points, the Boston Blades claimed second with five points, the Toronto Furies took third with two points and the Brampton Thunder finished fourth with one point:
The top four teams from the 2012-13 CWHL regular season advanced to the 2013 Clarkson Cup, with Boston finishing first at 39 points, Montreal taking second at 37 points, Brampton claiming third with 22 points and Toronto finishing in fourth place with 21 points total. The Clarkson Cup is named after former Governor General of Canada Adrienne Clarkson, is quickly becoming known as The Stanley Cup of women’s hockey, and as of March 7 has a permanent home in the Hockey Hall of Fame in downtown Toronto.

– Press Release CWHL



Vaxjo’s complete domination

Georgia’s joy

Hungary battles back

Lithuania breezes past Romania

Also Poland beats Slovenia

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy