Canada reduces roster

24 players remain in centralized women’s team

Gutterson Fieldhouse Burlington  USA

Tessa Bonhomme (right) won't participate in the 2014 Olympic Winter Games while Shannon Szabados (left) is among the remaining 24 players on the centralized national team. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images

CALGARY – Hockey Canada released three players from the centralized women’s national team that practises together in view of the 2014 Olympic Winter Games.

Defenders Tessa Bonhomme (Toronto, CWHL) and Brigette Lacquette (University of Minnesota Duluth, WCHA), as well as forward Jenelle Kohanchuk (Boston University, HE) were released on Tuesday. The decision was taken following the Four Nations Cup in Lake Placid last week.

"We didn't foresee they were going to be able to move themselves up enough to overtake who was ahead of them on the depth chart at this point," head coach Dan Church told the Canadian Press.

"It didn't matter how many weeks were still (to go), we didn't see that happening based on the body of work to date."

Kohanchuk and Lacquette have never played at a senior IIHF event while Bonhomme is a veteran of one Olympics (2010) and five IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championships between 2007 and 2013 and played her 100th international game last week.

"I don't think it matters who you are, you're always surprised when a cut is made," Bonhomme said.

"At the beginning of the year, I felt great, like I was playing the way I should and then I kind of ran into a little bit of health issues and didn't really bounce back the way I wanted to."

24 players remain in centralization, including three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 14 forwards. 12 players from the gold-medal winning team in Vancouver 2010 are currently on the roster.

The team has a schedule of games against Midget (men’s U18) teams and international games over the coming months, leading up to the 2014 Olympic Winter Games. Canada’s final roster for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games will include 21 players, including three goaltenders.

Canada’s women’s national team as of 13th November

Shannon Szabados, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (ACAC)
Geneviève Lacasse, Boston (CWHL)
Charline Labonté, Montreal (CWHL)

Jocelyne Larocque, Calgary (CWHL)
Lauriane Rougeau, Cornell University (ECAC)
Laura Fortino, Cornell University (ECAC)
Courtney Birchard, Brampton (CWHL)
Meaghan Mikkelson, Calgary (CWHL)
Catherine Ward, Montreal (CWHL)
Tara Watchorn, Calgary (CWHL)

Meghan Agosta-Marciano, Montreal (CWHL)
Rebecca Johnston, Toronto (CWHL)
Jennifer Wakefield, Toronto (CWHL)
Gillian Apps, Brampton (CWHL)
Caroline Ouellette, Montreal (CWHL)
Mélodie Daoust, McGill University (CIS)
Jayna Hefford, Brampton (CWHL)
Bailey Bram, Brampton (CWHL)
Brianne Jenner, Cornell University (ECAC)
Haley Irwin, Montreal (CWHL)
Hayley Wickenheiser, University of Calgary (CIS)
Natalie Spooner, Toronto (CWHL)
Vicki Bendus, Brampton (CWHL)
Marie-Philip Poulin, Boston University (HE)



The Tkachuk Way

Pousse to coach U20

Finnish threat

Return to the motherland

Tardif re-elected in France

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy