Officials nominated

16 referees, 16 linesmen named for Minsk 2014


Linesman Jesse Wilmot separates Switzerland’s Roman Josi and Sweden’s Henrik Tallinder during the gold medal game of the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. The four-man officiating crew from that game will be among the returnees in Minsk 2014. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images

ZURICH – The International Ice Hockey Federation has nominated the 32 on-ice officials for the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship in Minsk, Belarus.

<table width="390"><tbody> <tr><td rowspan="1" width="190">Referees</td><td rowspan="1" width="10"></td><td rowspan="1" width="190">Linesmen</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Brüggemann, Lars (GER)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Carlson, Chris (CAN)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Bulanov, Vyacheslav (RUS)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Carnathan, Paul (USA)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Dremelj, Igor (SLO)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Dahmen, Jimmy (SWE)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Frano, Martin (CZE)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Dedioulia, Ivan (BLR)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Gofman, Roman (RUS)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Dehaen, Pierre (FRA)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Jerabek, Antonin (CZE)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Fluri, Nicolas (SUI)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Kaval, Keith (USA)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Kilian, Jon (NOR)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Nord, Mikael (SWE)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Lederer, Vit (CZE)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Olenin, Konstantin (RUS)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Leermakers, Joep (NED)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Patafie, Steve (USA)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Puolakka, Masi (FIN)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Piechaczek, Daniel (GER)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Raming, Stanislav (RUS)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Rantala, Aleksi (FIN)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Schrader, Andre (GER)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Rönn, Jyri (FIN)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Semjonov, Anton (EST)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Sidorenko, Maxim (BLR)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Suominen, Sakari (FIN)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Sindler, Vladimir (CZE)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Valach, Miroslav (SVK)</td></tr> <tr><td width="190">Vinnerborg, Marcus (SWE)</td><td width="10"> </td><td width="190">Wilmot, Jesse (CAN)</td></tr></tbody></table>
The 16 referees and 16 linesmen from 15 different countries were selected from a long list announced earlier this season that included 54 candidates. Five IIHF Referee Supervisors were also selected: Vladimir Mihalik (SVK), Gerhard Lichtnecker (GER), Matt Leaf (USA), Alexander Polyakov (RUS) and Arto Jarvela (FIN).

All of the IIHF referees and most of the IIHF linesmen from the 2014 Olympic men’s ice hockey tournament in Sochi will be in Belarus. Among the most experienced referees are Vladimir Sindler from the Czech Republic, who will officiate his 11th IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, and Vyacheslav Bulanov with his ninth World Championship. Also the referees from last year’s gold medal game, Antonin Jerabek and Konstantin Olenin, will be in Minsk.

For Belarusian linesman Ivan Dedioulia and Anton Semjonov from Estonia it will be the ninth top-level World Championship.

The officials’ line-up also includes several rookies going to their first top division World Championship, who earned their nomination through strong performances at other events like the U20 and U18 World Championships and the Referee Exchange Program. These include referees Igor Dremelj, Roman Gofman, Mikael Nord as well as Maxim Sidorenko, who will have his World Championship debut on home ice in Minsk.

Click here for all referee assignments in 2013/2014.



Fashion Forward

“It’s amazing what sport can do”

New World Juniors tickets

Jim Paek continues

Toronto champion

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy