Challenge Cup of Asia

In 2014 seven Asian countries were represented in the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship program at three different levels with Japan, Korea, China, DPR Korea, the United Arab Ermirates, Hong Kong and Chinese Taipei.

The IIHF Ice Hockey Challenge Cup of Asia gives Asian countries that are not in the World Championship program, or that play in the lowest division, a chance to compete. It shall also help develop hockey in Asia and help rank the Asian teams in view of the seeding for the Asian Winter Games.

The first edition of the event was held in 2008 with six teams in Hong Kong, followed by the eight-team event in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, in 2009. The year after a nine teams participated in the event in Chinese Taipei. 2012 marked the first ever event held in India, in the city of Dehradun.

In 2013 a record number of ten teams came to Bangkok in the first IIHF tournament ever held in Thailand and the same number of nations will participate in 2014.

Click through the menu on the left side for the archive.

Tournaments in the 2014/2015 season:

2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Challenge Cup of Asia
In Taipei City, Chinese Taipei, 14-19 March 2015
Participants: Chinese Taipei, United Arab Emirates, Mongolia, Thailand, Macau

2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Challenge Cup of Asia Division I
In Kuwait City, Kuwait, 18-24 April 2015
Participants: Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Singapore, India, Malaysia, Oman

2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Women's Challenge Cup of Asia Division I
In Taipei City, Chinese Taipei, 6-8 November 2014
Participants: Hong Kong, Thailand, Chinese Taipei

2014 IIHF Ice Hockey U20 Challenge Cup of Asia
In Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia, 5-7 August 2014
Participants: MHL Red Stars, Kazakhstan, Japan, Korea

Asian Winter Games

The 7th Asian Winter Games took place in Astana and Almaty, Kazakhstan, with men's and women's ice hockey tournaments from January 28 to February 6, 2011.

Click here for the schedule and scores.

The next Asian Winter Games will be held in 2017 in Sapporo, Japan.


Back to Beijing

Lithuania looking ahead

Learn to teach

Making the grade

Hockey camp kicks off in Korea

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved. Terms and Conditions