EWCC in Russia, Sweden

First round in Czech Republic, Italy, Latvia, Turkey


Maria Belova (née Vasilieva; right) and SKIF Nizhni Novgorod are back in the European Women’s Hockey Champions Cup after four years and winning this year’s Russian championship. Photo: Felix A. Eicher

ZURICH – The International Ice Hockey Federation has announced the participants and organizers of the 2014/2015 IIHF European Women’s Champions Cup that includes 20 national champions who will play in seven tournaments during three stages.

For the first time in seven years an EWCC tournament will be held in Russia. SKIF Nizhni Novgorod, which won the competition in 2009, will host the second-round group that includes Germany’s ESC Planegg and two qualifiers in December while Swedish champion Linkopings HC will host the other group with Finland’s Espoo Blues and two qualifiers.

The first round with four tournaments will be played in October with events taking place in the Czech Republic, Italy, Latvia and Turkey. The winner of each of these tournaments advances to the second round.

The top two teams of each second-round group will be qualified for the final tournament that will be played 20-22 February 2015 at a venue to be determined.

It will be the 11th edition of the European Women’s Champions Cup that has been won by a Russian team, Tornado Moscow Region, in the last three years. But this time SKIF won the Russian championship with a 37-3 record and one more point on its account than Tornado.

Click here for the groups, teams and hosts.



Toronto champion

Hockey in the desert

Champions Hockey League

Game 7 heroes

Pirates grab Danish trophy

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy