EWCC groups amended

Swiss champion Lugano joins competition


HC Lugano’s Kira Misikowetz and SKIF Nizhni Novgorod’s Alyona Khomich battle for the puck in the 2011 IIHF European Women’s Champions Cup Final. Photo: Felix A. Eicher

ZURICH – The groups and structure for the 2014/2015 IIHF European Women’s Champions Cup have been amended and now include Swiss champion HC Lugano.

HC Lugano was originally not entered due to a failure in the registration process. To maintain the high sportive quality of the competition and add the Swiss champion that includes several recent Olympic bronze medallists, the IIHF produced an amended tournament format, which was welcomed by the EWCC participants.

With the new format, a third second-round group has been created that will be hosted by HC Lugano, and seven instead of four teams will qualify for the second round that will be played 5-7 December 2014.

The three tournament winners of the second round and the second-ranked team with the best record will advance to the final tournament that will be played 20-22 February 2015.

Click here for the new EWCC groups.



Esbjerg repeats

Kometa Brno wins Czech title

SC Bern again

Munich makes it two in a row

Znarok leads SKA to Gagarin Cup

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy