South Africa wins qualifier

Participants for 2009 IIHF InLine Hockey Worlds complete

JOHANNESBURG – South Africa won the best-of-two qualification series against Namibia and qualified for the 2009 IIHF InLine Hockey World Championship, which will be held in Ingolstadt, Germany, June 6-13.

South Africa won the first game one week ago when they celebrated a 3-2 road victory in Swakopmund, Namibia. On Saturday, the second match in Johannesburg, South Africa, ended 1-1.

Both teams took part in the 2007 InLine World Championship but were both relegated. At that time, Namibia was the better team and won the mutual game 8-3.

South Africa and Chinese Taipei replace the relegated teams from Bulgaria and New Zealand.

Groups of the Top Division:
Group A: Sweden (1), USA (4), Czech Republic (5), Canada (8).
Group B: Slovakia (2), Germany (3), Finland (6), Slovenia (7).

Groups of Division I:
Group C: Austria (9), Australia (12), Japan (13), Chinese Taipei (16).
Group D: Great Britain (10), Brazil (11), Hungary (14), South Africa (15).



USA to play in Women's Worlds

Poulin ready for Worlds

Panik paying back trust

New U20 coach for Latvia

More teams named

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy