EWCC groups determined

Sweden back to battle for European women’s club crown


Tornado Moscow Region's Olga Permyakova and the ZSC Lions Zurich's Reica Steiger battle for the puck. The top-two teams of last year's European Women's Champions Cup will be back for 2012/2013. Photo: Veli-Matti A. Pitkänen

ZURICH – The IIHF announced the teams, groups and hosts for next season’s European Women’s Champions Cup. After a three-year hiatus, Sweden is again represented in the competition.

The competition includes 20 champions from European nations and with the comeback from Sweden all top nations will be represented.

After Segeltorps IF hadn’t registered for the last three years due to financial issues, new and first-time Swedish women’s hockey champion MODO Örnsköldsvik accepted the challenge and will also host its first-round group. The other tournaments taking place 19-21 October will be hosted in Austria, Belarus and Italy.

The four tournament winners will advance to the second round where the champions from the top-four nations from last year’s competition are pre-qualified. These tournaments staged 7-9 December will be hosted by Swiss champion ZSC Lions Zurich and first-time Finnish champion Kärpät Oulu.

The event includes other new entries, among them French champion HC Neuilly sur Marne and Danish champion Hvidovre, but also many well-known participants including defending European women’s club champion Tornado Moscow Region from Russia.

It will be the ninth season for the EWCC which has been won four times by Swedish team AIK Stockholm, three times by Russian teams (Tornado, SKIF) and once by a team from Finland (Ilves Tampere).

First Round, 19-21 October 2012

Group A: Bolzano Eagles (ITA, host), HC Neuilly sur Marne (FRA), KHL Gric (CRO), Valladolid Panteras (ESP).

Group B: Pantera Minsk (BLR, host), Aisulu Almaty (KAZ), SC Miercurea Ciuc (ROU), Milenyum Ankara (TUR).

Group C: Vålerenga Oslo (NOR), Laima Riga (LAT), Hvidovre (DEN), MODO Örnsköldsvik (SWE, host).

Group D: Slavia Prague (CZE), Sabres Vienna (AUT, host), Polonia Bytom (POL), HK Poprad (SVK).

Second Round, 7-9 December 2012

Group E: ZSC Lions Zurich (SUI, host), ESC Planegg (GER), Winner Group A, Winner Group C.

Group F: Kärpät Oulu (FIN, host), Tornado Moscow Region (RUS), Winner Group B, Winner Group D.

Final Tournament, 22-24 February 2013

The top two teams of each second-round group advance to the final tournament. Host to be determined.



Thank you Denmark!

Stats you’ve never seen Part II

Best of ref cam

Generation conquerors

Kings of the garden

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy