New President in Germany

Franz Reindl takes over from Harnos


Changing of the guard: Franz Reindl (left) replaces Uwe Harnos (right) as President of the German Ice Hockey Association. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images

FRANKFURT – Franz Reindl was elected as new President of the German Ice Hockey Association (DEB) on Saturday. He takes over from Uwe Harnos, who led the organization for eight years.

Reindl brings with him vast experience in national and international hockey. He was among the top German forwards of the ‘70s and ‘80s. He represented his country in 181 international games and won Olympic bronze in 1976. After ending his playing career he coached his hometown club SC Riessersee from Garmisch-Partenkirchen and was an assistant coach of the German national team. He has worked for the German Ice Hockey Association in different positions starting in 1991 including as a sport director, general manager of the national team program and as a general secretary.

He is also a member of the IIHF Competition & Inline Committee and of the IIHF Co-ordination Committee.

Reindl resigned in June as general secretary of the German Ice Hockey Association and of the national team to focus on his duties as General Secretary of the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Organizing Committee with criticism towards the old board. He then decided for what initially looked to be a contested election for presidency against Harnos.

“Motivated by the big encouragement of the ice hockey and sport family I decided to run for the post of the DEB President to bring about changes and to use my experience for the for the good of German ice hockey in the future,” Reindl said recently.

There was campaigning for continuation with the old guard as well as for a change after some years that didn’t lack of conflicts in German hockey. On Saturday at the assembly Harnos informed the membership about his withdrawal. Reindl ended up earning 73.5 per cent of the votes.

“The members decided today for a path-breaking step in favour of German ice hockey. I’m overjoyed that the mind of consensus to go with the three big organizations of German ice hockey together to a positive future received support,” Reindl said after the election.

Also the other board members were newly elected: Daniel Hopp, Berthold Wipfler and Marc Hinderlang.




Hungry for more

McDavid named top NHLer

The Tkachuk Way

Pousse to coach U20

Finnish threat

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy