U.S. women with 13 returnees
by USA Hockey|02 JAN 2022
Kendall Coyne Schofield, Lee Stecklein and Hilary Knight are among the returnees from Team USA’s golden team in 2018.
photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
USA Hockey announced the final roster for its 2022 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team that will compete in February at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games in Beijing, China.

Of the 23 players on the roster, 15 have prior Olympic experience, including Cayla Barnes (Eastvale, Calif./2018), Megan Bozek (Buffalo Grove, Ill./2014), Hannah Brandt (Vadnais Heights, Minn./2018), Dani Cameranesi (Plymouth, Minn./2018), Alex Carpenter (North Reading, Mass./2014), Alex Cavallini (Delafield, Wis./2018), Kendall Coyne Schofield (Palos Heights, Ill./2018, 2014), Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis./2018, 2014), Nicole Hensley (Lakewood, Colo./2018), Megan Keller (Farmington, Mich./2018), Amanda Kessel (Madison, Wis./2018, 2014), Hilary Knight, (Sun Valley, Idaho/2018, 2014, 2010), Kelly Pannek (Plymouth, Minn./2018), Maddie Rooney (Andover, Minn./2018) and Lee Stecklein (Roseville, Minn./2018, 2014). 13 players were part of the golden team in PyeongChang 2018.

“Naming an Olympic team is always a momentous occasion and we’re thrilled to take this next step on our journey,” said Katie Million, general manager of the 2022 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team. “The players have consistently worked hard and battled through adversity in the last three months, and we’re confident in the talent and energy they bring to the ice as we look to take home gold in Beijing.” 

“We’ve worked through a comprehensive evaluation process that has led us to this 23-player roster,” said Joel Johnson, head coach of the 2022 U.S. Olympic Women’s Hockey Ice Hockey Team. “This team has great veteran leadership, in combination with an infusion of younger talent. The skill, focus and energy they bring to the ice will serve us well as we head to Beijing with our sights set on bringing home gold.” 

First-time Olympians

The team includes eight first-time Olympians in Jesse Compher (Northbrook, Ill.), Jincy Dunne (O’Fallon, Mo.), Savannah Harmon (Downers Grove, Ill.), Caroline Harvey (Salem, N.H.), Abbey Murphy (Evergreen Park, Ill.), Abby Roque (Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.), Hayley Scamurra (Getzville, N.Y.) and Grace Zumwinkle (Excelsior, Minn.). 

Knight in fourth Olympic Games

Hilary Knight has now been named to four Olympic women’s ice hockey teams, joining Jenny Potter, Angela Ruggiero and Julie Chu as the only American women in USA Hockey history to accomplish that feat. Kendall Coyne Schofield, Brianna Decker, Amanda Kessel and Lee Stecklein have all now made three Olympic teams.

Average age 

The team showcases a strong mix of veteran experience and youth, ranging in age from 19 (Caroline Harvey, Abbey Murphy) to 32 (Hilary Knight). The average age of Team USA Is 25.9 years old. 

College connection 

All 23 athletes have either played, currently play or are committed to play NCAA hockey, with the University of Minnesota leading the way with eight representatives. The University of Wisconsin has connection to four athletes, while Boston College has three, Northeastern University two, and one each for Boston University, Clarkson University, Lindenwood University, Ohio State University and University of Minnesota Duluth.


Alex Cavallini, PWHPA
Nicole Hensley, PWHPA
Maddie Rooney, PWHPA

Cayla Barnes, Boston College (HEA)
Megan Bozek, KRS Vanke Rays (CHN)
Jincy Dunne, PWHPA
Savannah Harmon, PWHPA
Caroline Harvey, NAHA U19
Megan Keller, PWHPA
Lee Stecklein, PWHPA

Hannah Brandt, PWHPA
Dani Cameranesi, PWHPA
Alex Carpenter, KRS Vanke Rays (CHN)
Jesse Compher, Boston University (HEA)
Kendall Coyne Schofield, PWHPA
Brianna Decker, PWHPA
Amanda Kessel, PWHPA
Hilary Knight, PWHPA
Abbey Murphy, University of Minnesota (WCHA)
Kelly Pannek, PWHPA
Abby Roque, PWHPA
Hayley Scamurra, PWHPA
Grace Zumwinkle, University of Minnesota (WCHA)

Head Coach
Joel Johnson