New President for CHL
by Champions Hockey League|16 JUN 2022
New CHL President Jörgen Lindgren.
photo: Jan Benes / Champions Hockey League
Peter Zahner has announced his retirement as the President of the Champions Hockey League. The CHL Board elected Jörgen Lindgren as his successor during its meeting on Wednesday in Prague.

At the CHL Board meeting, following the General Assembly on Wednesday in Prague, Peter Zahner announced his retirement as the President of the Champions Hockey League. The Swiss native, who served as a Board member since the very start of the CHL project and was elected as President of the CHL in 2018, resigns from presidential duties. He will be available to support the CHL Board until a new representative of Swiss clubs is elected.

Following Peter Zahner’s announcement, the CHL Board elected Jörgen Lindgren as the new President. The Swede, who is president of Hockey Europe, has served as a CHL Board member since 2015 and was elected CHL Vice-President in 2018.

The CHL Board also elected two new Vice-Presidents at its meeting: Henrik Bach Nielsen, IIHF Regional Vice-President Europe & Africa and Timo Everi, chairman of IFK Helsinki & representative of the Finnish clubs on the CHL Board.

Henrik Bach Nielsen was elected to the CHL Board during yesterday’s General Assembly and succeeds Franz Reindl, who was in office since 2018 and resigned, as the representative of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF). 

The Champions Hockey League would like to thank Peter Zahner and Franz Reindl for their great commitment and tireless work for European club ice hockey during their Board terms. They have successfully contributed to the development of the Champions Hockey League and the CHL is proud to have had such active Board Members.

According to the structure of the Champions Hockey League, Board members are elected at the General Assembly (which was held early Wednesday afternoon in Prague). The election of the President and the Vice-Presidents is in the power of the CHL Board and was conducted following the General Assembly.