Canada invites 34 players
by Hockey Canada|04 DEC 2018
Maxime Comtois (left) and Alex Formenton (right) are the two returnees from last year’s gold-medal winning Team Canada at the upcoming camp.
photo: Matt Zambonin / HHOF-IIHF Images
With just weeks to go before the puck drops on the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship, Hockey Canada has named the 34 players who have earned an invitation to Canada’s National Junior Team Sport Chek Selection Camp, Dec. 11-14 in Victoria, B.C.

The camp roster includes three goaltenders, 12 defencemen and 19 forwards. The process of evaluating and selecting the players was led by Brad McEwen, Hockey Canada’s head scout, in consultation with Steve Staios from the Program of Excellence management group, with input from coaches and general managers across the Canadian Hockey League (CHL).

Among the 34 players are two returnees from the team that won World Juniors gold last year: Maxime Comtois (Longueuil, Que./Drummondville, QMJHL) and Alex Formenton (King City, Ont./London, OHL). In addition, forward Jaret Anderson-Dolan (Calgary/Spokane, WHL) is dealing with an injury, but remains under consideration for a roster spot. His condition will continue to be monitored and a decision will be made prior to the start of the tournament. 

“Our evaluation process through summer camp, the CHL season, Canada-Russia Series and now selection camp allows us to assess and assemble the top Canadian players to represent our country,” said Shawn Bullock, Hockey Canada’s director of men’s national teams. “Our final decisions will be difficult ones, but we couldn’t be more excited to gather in Victoria and begin the road to representing Canada in Vancouver.”

Canada’s National Junior Team Sport Chek Selection Camp will be held at the Q Centre, home of the Victoria Grizzlies of the B.C. Hockey League, and will feature a three-game series against a team of U SPORTS all-stars Dec. 12-14. Tickets are $15 plus fees and are available at, as well as at the Q Centre and Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre box offices.

Following selection camp, the Canadian squad will be pared down to the final 22 players who will proudly wear the Maple Leaf at the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship in Vancouver from Dec. 26-Jan. 5, as they look to win Canada’s 18th World Juniors gold medal. 

Canada’s final preparations include games against Switzerland, Slovakia and Finland as part of the Lordco Road to the World Juniors pre-tournament schedule. Nine communities across the B.C. will play host to 12 games, featuring all 10 competing teams, from Dec. 18-23.  

TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada, will once again provide wall-to-wall game coverage and analysis throughout the tournament, including Canada’s three pre-tournament games; check local listings for details.

Click here for the full pre-tournament schedule.

Team Canada Camp Roster

Michael DiPietro, Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
Ian Scott, Prince Albert Raiders (WHL)
Matthew Villalta, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)

Calen Addison, Lethbridge Hurricanes (WHL)
Nicolas Beaudin, Drummondville Voltigeurs (QMJHL)
Jacob Bernard-Docker, University of North Dakota (NCAA)
Evan Bouchard, London Knights (OHL)
Josh Brook, Moose Jaw Warriors (WHL)
Cameron Crotty, Boston University (NCAA)
Noah Dobson, Acadie-Bathurst Titan (QMJHL)
Pierre-Olivier Joseph, Charlottetown Islanders (QMJHL)
Jared McIsaac, Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)
Ian Mitchell, University of Denver (NCAA)
Markus Phillips, Owen Sound Attack (OHL)
Ty Smith, Spokane Chiefs (WHL)

Jaret Anderson-Dolan, Spokane Chiefs (WHL)    
Shane Bowers, Boston University (NCAA)    
Maxime Comtois, Drummondville Voltigeurs (QMJHL)
Ty Dellandrea, Flint Firebirds (OHL)
MacKenzie Entwistle, Hamilton Bulldogs (OHL)    
Alex Formenton, London Knights (OHL)
Liam Foudy, London Knights (OHL)
Morgan Frost, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)
Cody Glass, Portland Winterhawks (WHL)
Barrett Hayton, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)
Alexis Lafreniere, Rimouski Oceanic (QMJHL)
Raphael Lavoie, Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)
Brett Leason, Prince Albert Raiders (WHL)
Isaac Ratcliffe, Guelph Storm (OHL)
Jack Studnicka, Oshawa Generals (OHL)
Nick Suzuki, Owen Sound Tigers (OHL)
Owen Tippett, Mississauga Steelheads (OHL)
Joe Veleno, Drummondville Voltigeurs (QMJHL)
Gabe Vilardi, Ontario Reign (AHL)

Head Coach:
Tim Hunter