29 players join U.S. camp
by USA Hockey|06 DEC 2018
Quinn Hughes is Team USA’s internationally most experiences players and aims for his fourth IIHF medal.
photo: Andrea Cardin / HHOF-IIHF Images
29 players, including five members of the bronze medal-winning 2018 U.S. National Junior Team, have been named to the preliminary roster for the 2019 U.S. National Junior Team. The announcement was made today by USA Hockey on NHL Network's "NHL Now" and the full roster can be seen below.

The group is auditioning for a spot on the final 23-player roster that will represent the United States in the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship from Dec. 26, 2018 - Jan. 5, 2019, in Vancouver and Victoria, British Columbia.

"As a staff, we've grown more and more excited about this player pool as we've gone through evaluations this fall and we're thrilled to have these 29 players coming to Everett next week," said John Vanbiesbrouck, assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey and the general manager of the 2019 U.S. National Junior Team. "The player pool is deeper than it has ever been, and that's credit to all the organizations and volunteers developing the next wave of U.S. hockey stars. I know Coach Hastings (U.S. Head Coach Mike Hastings) and his staff are excited to bring these players together as we begin the challenge of getting to a final roster that will give us the best chance to bring home a gold medal."

Returning from last year

Among those named to the preliminary roster are five members of the 2018 U.S. National Junior Team that earned the bronze medal at the 2018 IIHF World Junior Championship in Buffalo, N.Y., including defensemen Mikey Anderson (Roseville, Minn./University of Minnesota Duluth), Quinn Hughes (Orlando, Fla./University of Michigan) and Dylan Samberg (Hermantown, Minn./University of Minnesota Duluth) and forwards Josh Norris (Oxford, Mich./University of Michigan) and Ryan Poehling (Lakeville, Minn./St. Cloud State University). 

International experience

In total, 21 players named to the preliminary roster have previously skated on a U.S. national or select team, including 15 who have medaled in IIHF competition. 

The Hughes Factor

Leading all U.S. players with international experience is Quinn Hughes, drafted seventh overall by the Vancouver Canucks in the 2018 NHL Draft, who has earned three IIHF medals for the United States, including one gold medal (2017 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship) and two bronze medals (2018 IIHF World Junior Championship, 2018 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship). Additionally, his brother Jack Hughes (Orlando, Fla./U.S. National Under-18 Team), the projected top pick in the 2019 NHL Draft, helped the U.S. earn a silver medal at the 2017 IIHF Under-18 Men's World Championship where he earned the Directorate Award as the top forward and a spot on the Media All-Star Team after leading the tournament with 12 points (5-7) in seven games. 

Everett camp

The 29 players will convene in Everett, Wash., for training camp from Dec. 15-17 at Angel of the Winds Arena. The camp will serve as part of the selection process in determining the final Team USA roster for the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship. 

Pre-tournament games

Following its camp in Everett, Team USA will travel to Kamloops where it will train at Sandman Centre from Dec. 18-20. During its time in Kamloops, Team USA will face off against Russia in a pre-tournament game at Sandman Centre on Dec. 20. The U.S. will then travel to Langley, B.C., to meet the Czech Republic in its final pre-tournament game at George Preston Recreation Centre on Dec. 22. Faceoff for both tilts are set for 7 p.m. local time (10 p.m. ET). 

Click here for the full pre-event list.

Team USA Camp Roster

Kyle Keyser, Oshawa Generals (OHL)
Spencer Knight, U.S. National Under-18 Team (USHL)
Cayden Primeau, Northeastern University (HEA)

Mikey Anderson, University of Minnesota Duluth (NCHC)
Michael Callahan, Providence College (HEA)
Ty Emberson, University of Wisconsin (Big Ten)
Quinn Hughes, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
Joey Keane, Barrie Colts (OHL)
Phil Kemp, Yale University (ECAC Hockey)
K'Andre Miller, University of Wisconsin (Big Ten)
Dylan Samberg, University of Minnesota Duluth (NCHC)
Mattias Samuelsson, Western Michigan University (NCHC)
Jack St. Ivany, Yale University (ECAC Hockey)

Evan Barratt, Penn State University (Big Ten)
Noah Cates, University of Minnesota Duluth (NCHC)
Sasha Chmelevski, Ottawa 67's (OHL)
Logan Cockerill, Boston University (HEA)
Cole Coskey, Saginaw Spirit (OHL)
Sean Dhooghe, University of Wisconsin (Big Ten)
Jack Drury, Harvard University (ECAC Hockey)
Joel Farabee, Boston University (HEA)
Jack Hughes, U.S. National Under-18 Team (USHL)
Tyler Madden, Northeastern University (HEA)
Josh Norris, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
Jay O'Brien, Providence College (HEA)
Ryan Poehling, St. Cloud State Unviersity (NCHC)
Jason Robertson, Niagara IceDogs (OHL)
Oliver Wahlstrom, Boston College (HEA)
Sammy Walker, University of Minnesota (Big Ten)

Head Coach:
Mike Hastings