Germany confirms Franziska Busch
by Martin Merk|26 NOV 2018
Franziska Busch was promoted from assistant to head coach of the German U18 women’s national team.
photo: Steve Kingsman / HHOF-IIHF Images
Germany’s long-time women’s national team player Franziska Busch will serve as the new head coach of the U18 women’s national team.

The 33-year-old joined the coaching staff last year as an assistant coach and replaces Tommy Kettner, who was coaching the team during the past three seasons. Busch was already behind the bench as head coach at the recent Four Nations tournament in Bad Tolz. The agreement was made until the end of the season.

Busch has been a top-level player in Germany until 2015/2016. She represented Germany in eight IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship tournaments (six in the top division) and two Olympic Winter Games before becoming a youth coach. During the summer she took part in the Coach Development Program of the 2018 IIHF Women’s High-Performance Camp in Finland.

“The change and realignment in the women’s hockey area for the new Olympic cycle comes in huge steps. We are very happy to have an experienced and motivated women’s national team coach with Christian Kunast and with Franziska Busch a young and newly educated U18 women’s national team coach for the upcoming important and difficult tasks,” said German Ice Hockey Association President Franz Reindl. “Our women’s national teams have to stand their ground in the world and the participation in Beijing 2022 is the unconditional goal.”

“Christian Kunast convinced us with his concept and vision for German women’s ice hockey as did Franziska Busch with her perfectly complementing direction for the U18 national team. Both are well educated, have experience at the international level and want to actively shape the positive development of women’s hockey,” said Sport Director Stefan Schaidnagel.

Germany was relegated last year and will fight for a return to the top level at the 2019 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship Division I Group A in Radenthein, Austria, from 7 to 13 January.

Germany, Slovakia, Italy, Austria, Hungary and Denmark will participate in the tournament.