Continental Cup anniversary season set
by Martin Merk|21 JUN 2022
Saryarka Karaganda and Asiago Hockey are among the returning teams in next season’s IIHF Continental Cup.
photo: Lukasz Zoladz
The teams, groups, dates and hosts of the 2023 IIHF Continental Cup have been confirmed at today’s annual meeting with the participating clubs that was held online.

Next season the top club teams from Europe’s hockey countries will again battle for titles in the Champions Hockey League and the Continental Cup.

20 clubs from 20 countries will compete in the four-stage Continental Cup next season that will be held in seven tournaments between September 2022 and January 2023. As in recent years the IIHF Continental Cup winner will have the chance to qualify for the Champions Hockey League of the following season pending formal approval by the CHL Board.

Last season Cracovia Krakow wrote history by becoming the first Continental Cup champion from Poland and will compete in the CHL this season.

The upcoming season will be the 25th season of the IIHF Continental Cup. In the previous 24 seasons teams from 13 different countries won the European club competition led by Belarus, Slovakia and Switzerland with four each.

The anniversary season will begin with the first-round tournaments during the weekend of 23-25 September to be held in Sofia (BUL) and Istanbul (TUR) with the winners advancing to the second round.

The second round will take place from 14-16 October. Group C will take place in the French city of Angers that recently hosted the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship Division I Group C in its brand-new arena. Group D will also be held at another arena well-used for IIHF events in Asiago, Italy.

The finalists will be determined during the third round held between 18 and 20 November 2022.

The Cardiff Devils from Wales, Great Britain will host Group E that includes Kazakh champion Saryarka Karaganda, Latvian champion Zemgale Jelgava and a qualifier from the second round.

HK Nitra from Slovakia will organize Group F that includes Unia Oswiecim from Poland, Ukrainian champion Sokil Kyiv and a qualifier.

The top-two teams from each of the groups in Cardiff and Nitra will advance to the final tournament, which will take place from 13 to 15 January 2023 at the venue of one of the finalists to be determined.

2023 IIHF Continental Cup

13-15 January 2023
(venue TBD)
Winner Group E
Winner Group F
Runner-up Group E
Runner-up Group F
Round 3
18-20 November 2022
Group E Group F
(in Cardiff/GBR) (in Nitra/SVK)
Saryarka Karaganda (KAZ) Unia Oswiecim (POL)
Cardiff Devils (GBR) HK Nitra (SVK)
Zemgale Jelgava (LAT) Sokil Kyiv (UKR)
Winner Group C Winner Group D
Round 2
14-16 October 2022
Group C Group D
(in Angers/FRA) (in Asiago/ITA)
Angers Ducs (FRA) Asiago Hockey (ITA)
Ferencvarosi TC (HUN) Acroni Jesenice (SLO)
SC Miercurea Ciuc (ROU) Vojvodina Novi Sad (SRB)
Winner Group A Winner Group B
Round 1
23-25 September 2022
Group A Group B
(in Sofia/BUL) (in Istanbul/TUR)
Tartu Valk 494 (EST) FC Barcelona (ESP)
Skautafelag Akureyrar (ISL) Hockey Punks Vilnius (LTU)
KHL Sisak (CRO) Buz Adam Istanbul (TUR)
NSA Sofia (BUL) Liege Bulldogs (BEL)