Continental Cup starts in September
by Martin Merk|30 JUN 2021
Cracovia Krakow and Saryarka Karaganda will meet again in Krakow for the first time in Continental Cup play in 12 years.
photo: Martfree
After a one-year break due to the Covid-19 pandemic, 2021 will be a comeback year for European club competitions. After the season start of the Champions Hockey League in summer, the 2021/2022 season of the IIHF Continental Cup will begin on 24 September.

20 clubs from as many countries, in most cases the national champion, will compete in the four-stage competition that will culminate with the Final held from 7 to 9 January 2022.

Grouped and seeded according to strength of the various leagues and with geographical considerations, the Continental Cup will kick off with Round 1 from 24-26 September in Brasov (Romania) and Vilnius (Lithuania) with the winner of each four-team group advancing to the second round. This stage will take place from 22 to 24 October with two groups in Budapest (Hungary) and Amiens (France).

The third round from 19 to 21 November includes the top-seeded teams. Group E will be hosted by Cracovia Krakow (Poland) and also include Kazakh champion Saryarka Karaganda, HK Poprad from Slovakia and a qualifier. Group F includes Danish host Aalborg Pirates, the Sheffield Steelers (Great Britain) and HK Gomel (Belarus).

The top-two teams of each third-round group will advance to the final tournament that will be hosted by one of the four finalists.

The annual meeting with the clubs was held via video conference today and the groups, venues and dates approved.

The 20 clubs come from all across Europe except for the six founding leagues of the Champions Hockey League. The clubs will not only battle for the Continental Cup winners’ plate but also for an invitation to play in the Champions Hockey League the following season, pending formal approval by the CHL board.

At the last edition SonderjyskE Vojens became the first Continental Cup champion from Denmark in January 2020.
7-9 January 2022
(venue TBA)
Winner Group E
Winner Group F
Runner-up Group E
Runner-up Group F
Round 3
19-21 November 2021
Group E Group F
(in Krakow/POL) (in Aalborg/DEN)
Saryarka Karaganda (KAZ) Sheffield Steelers (GBR)
HK Poprad (SVK) HK Gomel (BLR)
Cracovia Krakow (POL) Aalborg Pirates (DEN)
Qualifier 2 Qualifier 1
Round 2
22-24 October 2021
Group C Group D
(in Budapest/HUN) (in Amiens/FRA)
Olimp Riga (LAT) Asiago Hockey (ITA)
Ferencvarosi TC (HUN) Amiens Gothiques (FRA)
Sokil Kyiv (UKR) Acroni Jesenice (SLO)
Qualifier 2 Qualifier 1
Round 1
24-26 September 2021
Group A Group B
(in Brasov/ROU) (in Vilnius/LTU)
Corona Brasov (ROU) Hockey Punks Vilnius (LTU)
FC Barcelona (ESP) Crvena Zvezda Belgrade (SRB)
Mladost Zagreb (CRO) Tartu Valk 494 (EST)
Buz Beykoz Istanbul (TUR) Skautafelag Akureryar (ISL)