McTavish named MVP
by Lucas Aykroyd|21 AUG 2022
Canada's Mason McTavish was named MVP, Best Forward, and a tournament all-star team member at the 2022 World Juniors in Edmonton, Alberta.
photo: Chris Tanouye / HHOF-IIHF Images
The International Ice Hockey Federation has announced the winners of the individual awards and the tournament all-star team after the gold medal game of the 2022 IIHF World Junior Championship.

With Canada's gold medal-winning team, Mason McTavish was named MVP and Best Forward and also made the tournament all-star team. The 19-year-old captain, who captured gold at the 2021 U18 Worlds and played at the 2022 Olympics, won the World Junior scoring title (8+9=17).

McTavish equalled the Canadian single-game goals record by scoring four times in an 11-1 win over Slovakia. He fell just one point shy of the Canadian record for points in a tournament (18), shared by Dale McCourt (1977) and Brayden Schenn (2011).

IIHF Directorate Awards
Best Goalkeeper: Jesper Wallstedt, Sweden
Best Defender: Kasper Puutio, Finland
Best Forward: Mason McTavish, Canada

Media All-Star Team & MVP
Goalkeeper: Jesper Wallstedt, Sweden
Defender: Olen Zellweger, Canada
Defender: Emil Andrae, Sweden
Forward: Mason McTavish, Canada
Forward: Joakim Kemell, Finland
Forward: Jan Mysak, Czechia
Most Valuable Player: Mason McTavish, Canada