Will Smith named MVP
by Storie Serres|30 APR 2023
photo: © International Ice Hockey Federation / Matt Zambonin
The International Ice Hockey Federation has announced the winners of the individual awards and the tournament all-star team after the gold medal game of the 2023 IIHF U18 World Championship.

Will Smith was named MVP. After winning the scoring title with nine goals and 20 points, Smith was also named Best Forward and cracked the Media All-Star Team.

Capturing his first U18 Worlds gold medal, Will Smith combined with teammates Gabe Perreault and Ryan Leonard to form the tournament's highest-scoring line.

"Will is a two-way forward and has really worked on his game not only offensively, but defensively too," said linemate Gabe Perreault.

IIHF Directorate Awards
Best Goalkeeper: Noah Erliden, Sweden
Best Defender: Axel Sandin Pellikka, Sweden
Best Forward: Will Smith, USA

Media All-Star Team & MVP
Goalkeeper: Noah Erliden, Sweden
Defender: Axel Sandin Pellikka, Sweden
Defender: Cole Hutson, USA
Forward: Will Smith, USA
Forward: Dalibor Dvorsky, Slovakia
Forward: Otto Stenberg, Sweden
Most Valuable Player: Will Smith, USA