Final composition of groups confirmed
by Organizing Committee|28 JUN 2023
Czech Republic fans cheering on their team against Canada during preliminary round action at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship.
photo: © International Ice Hockey Federation / Andre Ringuette
The International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) and the 2024 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Host Organizing Committee have released the 2024 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship groups.
 Composition of groups confirmed
The groups for Prague and Ostrava are based on the World Ranking taking into consideration organizational wishes by the 2024 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Organizing Committee. “Thanks to the fact that the Czechs and Slovaks were already in different groups, we were able to address another group change wish " Jan Černý, General Secretary of the Czech Ice Hockey Association and Sport Director of the 2024 IIHF WM praises the composition of the groups.
Host Czechia will play Canada - the defending champion, Finland, Switzerland, Denmark, Norway, Austria and Great Britain in Group A in Prague.
Ostrava will host Group B that includes the USA, Germany, Sweden, Slovakia, Latvia, France, Kazakhstan and Poland. Poland is returning to the elite after 22 years: "Poles are big sports enthusiasts so we believe that they will not miss this historic event for Polish ice hockey," says Jan Černý.
Group A – Prague
  1. Canada
  2. Finland
  3. Switzerland
  4. Czechia
  5. Denmark
  6. Norway
  7. Austria
  8. Great Britain
Group B – Ostrava
  1. USA
  2. Germany
  3. Sweden
  4. Slovakia
  5. Latvia
  6. France
  7. Kazakhstan
  8. Poland