Jang scores golden goal
by Chris JUREWICZ|08 APR 2024
photo: © International Ice Hockey Federation / Zahit Düzgün
ISTANBUL, Türkiye – It came down to the last day and the second-last game of the round-robin tournament.

Throughout the week, Australia and the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (PRK) matched one another with win after win. Heading into the final day of the 2024 IIHF Women’s World Championship Division 2 Group B, the two nations were tied atop the standings with 4-0 records.

Following an intense 60 minutes where the teams scored one goal each, overtime settled nothing the game went to a shootout. Su Hyon Jong and Hyang Jang scored for PRK in the shootout, with Phoebe Roberts scoring the lone goal for Australia as DPR took the thrilling final 2-1, giving PRK the gold medal and forcing Australia to settle for silver.

The game and tournament-winning shootout goal came when Jang skated in quick on Australia’s Olivia Last and used a beautiful forehand to backhand move and slid the puck in the net. There were still three shooters to go on each side but the goalies stood tall from there and Australia couldn’t extend the shootout.

Kum Hyang Jo earned the win in net, stopping 27 of 28 shots during the game and four of five in the shootout.

PRK’s win gave it a record of four regulation wins and one overtime win, good for 14 points, one more than Australia, which had four regulation wins and the shootout loss. PRK opened its tournament with a 5-1 win over New Zealand, then cruised by South Africa 14-0, and also beating Türkiye 7-1. PRK survived a nail biter in its fourth game, edging Hong Kong 2-1. Hong Kong had a strong tournament as well, eventually winning the bronze medal.

Following the final game, the tournament’s top players were announced. Türkiye’s Erva Kanat was named top goalkeeper after earning two wins and registering a 0.913 save percentage and 2.20 goals against average. Matilda Pethrick (Australia) was named top defender with a goal and three assists to go along with a plus-minus rating of +8. The top forward is Su Hyon Jong of PRK who had eight points (two goals, six assists) and was +11 in the tournament.