photo: © IIHF / Boldizsar JANOS
The 2025 IIHF Championship Disciplinary Panel for the 2025 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, Division I Group A, has issued formal warning to Japan’s Hiroto Sato stemming from an incident involving illegal contact with an opponent.
The incident occurred at 16:50 of the first period during Game #7 between Japan and Great Britain on 30 April 2025. No penalty was called on the play, but it was reviewed by the Disciplinary Panel as a violation of IIHF Playing Rule 59 (Cross-checking).
After losing the puck, Sato tried to prevent a Great Britain player from gaining possession of the puck, but in doing so he made illegal contact to his opponent’s head and neck area. Sato expressed remorse and explained that the contact was purely accidental. He said the contact was also made, in part, because he, too, was hit at the same time by an opponent.
The Championship Disciplinary Panel determined that Sato should be issued a formal Warning because his opponent was in a vulnerable position. Sato could have used his hands and body to make a play, and he also needs to be in control of his stick at all times.
Although a Warning carries no suspension with it, it can be used in further disciplinary cases during the 2025 IIHF World Championship I-A involving Sato to determine the potential level of sanctioning for any other actions.
The incident occurred at 16:50 of the first period during Game #7 between Japan and Great Britain on 30 April 2025. No penalty was called on the play, but it was reviewed by the Disciplinary Panel as a violation of IIHF Playing Rule 59 (Cross-checking).
After losing the puck, Sato tried to prevent a Great Britain player from gaining possession of the puck, but in doing so he made illegal contact to his opponent’s head and neck area. Sato expressed remorse and explained that the contact was purely accidental. He said the contact was also made, in part, because he, too, was hit at the same time by an opponent.
The Championship Disciplinary Panel determined that Sato should be issued a formal Warning because his opponent was in a vulnerable position. Sato could have used his hands and body to make a play, and he also needs to be in control of his stick at all times.
Although a Warning carries no suspension with it, it can be used in further disciplinary cases during the 2025 IIHF World Championship I-A involving Sato to determine the potential level of sanctioning for any other actions.