Sweden announces camp roster
by Risto Pakarinen|05 DEC 2018
AHL defenceman Timothy Liljegren is among the returnees on Sweden’s World Junior camp roster.
photo: Andrea Cardin / HHOF-IIHF Images
Tomas Monten, the head coach of Sweden’s under-20 national team, the Juniorkronorna, presented his preliminary roster to the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship on Wednesday. On the roster, there are three goalies, eight defencemen, and 14 forwards but the Swedish federation hopes to be able to add Isac Lundestrom on the roster. 

Monten builds his team around an experienced defence, and around players who have experience from smaller North American rinks. 

Goaltender Olle Eriksson Ek is one of them. According to Monten, he spent some time in Anaheim, working on his game. 

In defence, Monten has two players from the Toronto Marlies in Timothy Liljegren and Rasmus Sandin. 

“Liljegren plays a lot with the Marlies and won the Calder Cup last season. Sandin has also impressed in Toronto, and he knows how to play in the North American rink,” Monten said. 

Erik Brannstrom was an important cog in Monten’s team last year. The fourth anchor in defence is Adam Boqvist, who plays in the OHL, loaned to the London Knights by the Chicago Blackhawks. 
Up front, one returning player is Fabian Zetterlind, a speedy forward who recently returned back to the Farjestad line-up, after an injury. 

Last year, David Gustafsson and Jacob Olofsson were among the last cuts Monten made, while Samuel Fagemo has got his breakthrough this season. 

Just before announcing the roster, Monten also had a few words to players not on his list. 

“There are a lot of fantastic players in Sweden and picking a team to World Juniors is not an easy task. In recent year, the tournament has gotten more media attention at home, but I also want to remind players who have attended our camps this season of the fact that this is just one tournament, not your entire career,” he said. 

“Keep working hard,” he added. 

Sweden will open the tournament on Boxing Day when they take on Finland. 

1. Adam Ahman, HV71 Jonkoping (SWE)
30. Samuel Ersson, Vasteras IK (SWE)
35. Olle Eriksson Ek, BIK Karlskoga (SWE)

3. Adam Boqvist, London Knights (OHL)
4. Jakob Ragnarsson, Almtuna IS (SWE)
5. Adam Ginning, Linkoping HC (SWE)
7. Timothy Liljegren, Toronto Marlies (AHL)
8. Rasmus Sandin, Toronto Marlies (AHL)
9. Nils Lundkvist, Lulea HF (SWE)
12. Erik Brannstrom, Chicago Wolves (AHL)
16. Filip Westerlund, Frolunda Gothenburg (SWE)

10. Emil Bemstrom, Djurgarden Stockholm (SWE)
11. Samuel Fagemo, Frolunda Gothenburg (SWE)
13. Johan Sodergran, Linkoping (SWE)
14. Hugo Leufvenius, Sarnia Sting (OHL)
15. Oskar Back, BIK Karlskoga (SWE)
17. Filip Svenningsson. IK Oskarshamn (SWE)
18. Jacob Olofson, Timra AIK (SWE)
19. Filip Hallander, Timra AIK (SWE)
21. Nils Hoglander, Rogle Angelholm (SWE)
23. Lucas Elvenes, Rogle Angelholm (SWE)
26. Rickard Hugg, Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
27. David Gustafsson, HV71 Jonkoping (SWE)
28. Fabian Zetterlund, Farjestad Karlstad (SWE)
29. Pontus Holmberg, Vaxjo Lakers (SWE)

Head Coach:
Tomas Monten