Kirk named MVP
by Andrew Podnieks|13 JAN 2019
Canada's Raygan Kirkwas named tournament MVP.
photo: Robert Hradil / HHOF-IIHF Images
Canada’s goalie Raygan Kirk was named tournament MVP. She came into the tournament in Canada's second game to replace Mahika Sarrazin and was steady when she had to be and excpetional when she needed to be. In four games, she surrendered nine goals in four games, winning three. Kirk had never played for Canada at an IIHF event previously, but the 17-year-old showed poise and maturity in the crease beyond her years.

Tournament honours
MVP: Raygan Kirk (CAN)
Directorate Awards
Best Goalie                Saskia Maurer (SUI)
Best Defenceman      Alexie Guay (CAN)
Best Forward             Elisa Holopainen (FIN)
All-Star Team
Goal: Saskia Maurer (SUI)
Defence: Alexie Guay (CAN), Nelli Laitinen (FIN)
Forward: Elisa Holopainen (FIN), Katy Knoll (USA), Ilona Markova (RUS)

The leading scorers here in Obihiro were as follows:
Points--Holopainen (FIN)--5
Goals--Holopainen & Natalie Mlynkova (RUS)--5
Assists--Kristyna Kaltounkova (CZE)--6
There will be WW18 Division I-A drama later today. Germany and Slovakia will play in the final game of the round robin. The winner of the group will play at the top level of WW18 in 2020 and the loser will remain in I-A. Slovakia must win in regulation to earn promotion while Germany can win any way or lose in overtime/shootout. There will be a live stream on the event page starting at 12:30 local time.
Japan has been demoted and will play Division I-A for 2020.
The 2020 WW18 has not yet been allocated. The 2019 senior Women’s Worlds will be played in Espoo, Finland, and the 2020 WW will be played in Halifax and Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada.