Sweden changes head coach
by Martin Merk|11 DEC 2020
Joel Ronnmark will serve as Sweden’s head coach at the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship.
photo: Minas Panagiotakis / HHOF-IIHF Images
The Swedish Ice Hockey Association announced that Joel Ronnmark will serve as head coach of the Swedish U20 national team at the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship. He replaces Tomas Monten in Edmonton, who is not able to travel to Canada due to a Covid-19 infection.

Monten and other positive tested staff members Anders Lundberg (assistant coach), Adam Almqvist Andersson (video coach) and Nizze Landen (goaltending coach) will support the Swedish U20 national team remotely as advisers, same as Todd Woodcroft.

30-year-old Ronnmark played junior hockey with Linkoping HC but switched to coaching early. During the past seven years he has been coaching junior teams at the Vaxjo Lakers, the last four years as head coach of the U18 team.

Ronnmark is in his third season with the Swedish U20 national team and worked at the past two World Juniors as an assistant coach.

In Edmonton Ronnmark will be joined by Anders Eriksen as assistant coach. Eriksen joined the U20 national team this week at the camp in Sundsvall. He has been working with junior selections from U17 to U19 since 2007, for this season with the U18 national team.

Jason Pietrzykowski, who normally works for the Edmonton Oilers, will join the Swedish team in Edmonton as video coach.

“We have faced a major challenge in completing the team staff and we have worked intensively during the week in close dialogue with the IIHF,” said John Stark, General Secretary of the Swedish Ice Hockey Association, and also has good news: “The latest test results showed that all players and staff who are currently in Sundsvall are healthy and can go to Canada.”

Four players from the original camp roster were not able to join the camp or had to leave due to Covid-19 issues including William Eklund, Karl Henriksson, William Wallinder and Albin Grewe. The current roster at the camp includes 32 players and will be cut to 25 players prior to the start of the tournament. Click here for roster updates from all teams.