Swiss women want to play for medal
by Martin Merk|14 JAN 2022
Phoebe Staenz and Lara Stalder are among the six players on the current Swiss roster who won Olympic bronze in Sochi 2014.
photo: Jeff Vinnick / HHOF-IIHF Images
The Swiss Ice Hockey Federation has named its 23-player roster for the Olympic women’s ice hockey team.

The team will resemble the one that competed at the 2021 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship with the good news that Alina Muller and Noemi Ryhner have recovered from injuries.

Nicole Bullo, who missed the Women’s Worlds due to illness, will also be back and compete in her fifth Olympic Winter Games after 2006, 2010, 2014 and 2018.

Bullo is one of six players from the team that won bronze in Sochi 2014. The others are Sarah Forster, Alina Muller, Lara Stalder, Evelina Raselli and Phoebe Staenz, who will play their third Olympics while the majority of players from this roster with a mix of young players and experienced veterans will participate in the Games for the very first time.

“I’m absolutely convinced about the firepower of our team and that we will continue our path at the Olympic Games,” said head coach Colin Muller. The Swiss reached the semi-finals at the recent Women’s Worlds and aim at playing for the medals again in Beijing.

The team will have practices on 17 and 19 January and then join for camp on 22 January and following PCR tests. The team will then travel to Beijing on 26 January for the start of the Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament on 3 February.

In the two-tiered Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament the Swiss are seeded among the top-5 teams and will play Canada, ROC, the United States and Finland in Group A.


Andrea Brandli, Ohio State University (NCAA)
Saskia Maurer, University of St. Thomas (NCAA)
Caroline Spies, EHC Basel

Nicole Bullo, Ladies Lugano
Lara Christen, ZSC Lions
Sarah Forster, AIK Stockholm (SWE)
Sinja Leemann, ZSC Lions
Alina Marti, ZSC Lions
Shannon Sigrist, Linkoping HC (SWE)
Nicole Vallario, University of St. Thomas (NCAA)
Stefanie Wetli, Thurgau Indien Ladies

Rahel Enzler, University of Maine (NCAA)
Lena-Marie Lutz, Ladies Lugano
Keely Moy, Harvard University (NCAA)
Alina Muller, Northeastern University (NCAA)
Kaleigh Quennec, University of Montreal (CAN)
Evelina Raselli, Boston Pride (PHA)
Lisa Ruedi, ZSC Lions
Dominique Ruegg, ZSC LIons
Noemi Ryhner, Lulea HF (SWE)
Phoebe Staenz, Leksands IF (SWE)
Lara Stalder, Brynas Gavle (SWE)
Laura Zimmermann, Bomo Thun

Head Coach
Colin Muller