U18 Worlds in Germany
by Martin Merk|05 JUN 2021
Recent U18 Worlds participant Luca Hauf is among the players still eligible to represent Germany on home ice at the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship.
photo: Chris Tanouye / HHOF-IIHF Images
The 2021 IIHF Annual Congress, which was held in Riga during the 2021 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship with the possibility for remote access for the IIHF membership, assigned the tournament hosts of the upcoming season in the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship program.

Several tournament hosts have already been known earlier. Tampere and Helsinki will host the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship and the 2022 IIHF World Junior Championship will start at the end of the year in Edmonton and Red Deer, Canada, this time with the anticipation of having fans in the arenas.

The 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship got today its host country in Germany. The application of the German Ice Hockey Association was unanimously accepted by the participating teams and the IIHF Council. The tournament is planned for 21 April to 1 May 2022. Initial discussions have already started with potential venues.

It will be the third edition in the country after 1999 (Fussen & Kaufbeuren) and 2011 (Crimmitschau & Dresden).

“We are very happy that our application to host the U18 Worlds has been accepted. This tournament will give an impulse for our German youth after the Covid-19 pandemic full of deprivation,” said German Ice Hockey Association President and IIHF Council member Franz Reindl.

Most tournaments of the upcoming season will be held at venues that were foreseen for the 2020/2021 season until most of the events had to be cancelled after discussions between the IIHF and the hosting and participating nations due to the pandemic and government restrictions in events, sports and travel.

The 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship will be played in Sweden at the previously foreseen venues of Linkoping and Mjolby. With the launch of the new women’s and girls’ ice hockey initiative 2021-2030, the Swedish Ice Hockey Association is looking forward to hosting the best female junior players from 8 to 15 January 2022 in the Ostergotland province 200 kilometres southwest of Stockholm.

The 2021 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship that was recently moved from May to August due to the cancellation by the province of Nova Scotia will take place at a new venue in Calgary (see separate news). Congress was also presented a proposal to host the IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship in Olympic years starting in 2022 with the bylaw change and the host country to be voted on in September (see separate news).

Among the much anticipated tournaments are also the Division I tournaments in Ljubljana (Slovenia, 2-8 May 2022) and Katowice (Poland, 25 April – 1 May 2022) on the men’s side and in Angers (France, 24-30 April 2022) and Katowice (Poland, 8-14 April 2022) on the women’s side.

The full list of tournaments, hosts, dates and participants will soon be published in the Tournament List section.

Record number of teams

A record number of up to 56 member national associations is entered to participate in the men’s senior category of the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship program next year. Malaysia, the Philippines and Singapore are set to have their debut at the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division IV in Kyrgyzstan next spring and Iran is tentatively listed as first-time participant pending review of the fulfilment of the Minimum Participation Standards after the recent launch of the ice hockey program in the country.

In the women’s senior category the number of participating nations grows to a record 43 teams with the return of Estonia after rebuilding their women’s hockey program, and the first-time participation of Bosnia & Herzegovina and Serbia. A potential participation of Iran will be evaluated as well.

Olympic Qualification in Oslo and Lulea

The remaining hosts of the Final Olympic Qualification for the Beijing 2022 men’s and women’s ice hockey tournaments have been announced.

The men’s Final Olympic Qualification is scheduled for 26-29 August 2021. While Bratislava for Group D (Slovakia, Belarus, Austria, Poland) and Riga for Group E (Latvia, France, Italy, Hungary) have already been known as hosts previously, Norway has chosen the recently rebuilt Jordal Amfi arena in Oslo as venue for Group F (Norway, Denmark, Korea, Slovenia). The winner of each group qualifies for Beijing 2022.

The three-stage qualification for the 2022 Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament begins in August and will end with the Final Olympic Qualification 11-14 November 2021. The Czech Republic will host Hungary, Norway and a qualifier in Pribram while Germany will host neighbouring countries Austria, Denmark and a qualifier in Fussen as previously announced. Sweden has chosen Lulea as host for its group that also includes France, Slovakia and a qualifier from the previous rounds.

Click here for the Olympic Qualification overview.