Olympic Winter Games

Recent Olympics

Click here for the ice hockey websites of the most recent Olympic Winter Games:

Groups & Qualification Men

For the 2022 Olympic men’s ice hockey tournament the top-8 nations of the 2019 IIHF Men’s World Ranking will be automatically qualified and together with host China and the three qualifiers be seeded according to the 2020 IIHF Men's World Ranking. The three qualifiers will be determined in four stages of the Olympic Qualification starting in the 2019/2020 season according to the schematic below.

The 2022 Olympic men’s ice hockey tournament will be played according to the same format used in PyeongChang 2018, Sochi 2014 and Vancouver 2010 with three groups of four teams each. The best four teams from an overall 12-team ranking – the group winners and the second-ranked team with the best record – will advance to the quarter-finals while the other teams will play a qualification playoff game.

Olympic Winter Games, Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament
Group A: Canada (1), USA (6), Germany (7), China (12).
Group B: Russia (2), Czech Republic (5), Switzerland (8), Qualifier 3 (11).
Group C: Finland (3), Sweden (4), Qualifier 1 (9), Qualifier 2 (10).

Final Olympic Qualification (26-29 August 2021)
Group D: Slovakia, Belarus, Austria, Poland. In Bratislava, Slovakia.
Group E: Latvia, France, Italy, Hungary. In Riga, Latvia.
Group F: Norway, Denmark, Korea, Slovenia. In Norway (city TBA).

Olympic Pre-Qualification Round 3 (6-9 February 2020)
Group G: Slovenia, Japan, Lithuania, Croatia. In Jesenice, Slovenia.
Group H: Kazakhstan, Poland, Ukraine, Netherlands. In Nur-Sultan, Kazakhstan.
Group J: Great Britain, Hungary, Estonia, Romania. In Nottingham, Great Britain.

Olympic Pre-Qualification Round 2 (12-15 December 2019)
Group K: Romania, Iceland, Israel, Kyrgyzstan. In Brasov, Romania.
Group L: Netherlands, Spain, Mexico, Chinese Taipei. In Barcelona, Spain. (13-15 Dec.)
Group M: Croatia, Serbia, Bulgaria, Turkey. In Sisak, Croatia. (13-15 Dec.)

Olympic Pre-Qualification Round 1 (7-10 November 2019)
Group N: Luxembourg, United Arab Emirates, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Kyrgyzstan. In Kockelscheuer, Luxembourg. (8-10 Nov.)
Group O: Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Thailand. In Sanya, China.

Groups & Qualification Women

The 2022 Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament will for the first time be played with 10 teams.
The top-6 nations of the 2020 IIHF Women’s World Ranking and host China will be automatically qualified and seeded according to the ranking. The three qualifiers will be determined during in the Olympic Qualification in 2021.

The 2022 Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament will be played according to the same format used at the 2021 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championships with two tiered groups of five teams each. The five teams from Group A and the top three teams from Group B will advance to the quarter-finals.

Olympic Winter Games, Women’s Ice Hockey Tournament
Group A: USA (1), Canada (2), Finland (3), Russia (4), Switzerland (5).
Group B: Japan (6), Qualifier 1 (7), Qualifier 2 (8), Qualifier 3 (9), China (10).

Final Olympic Qualification (November 2021)
Group C: Czech Republic, Hungary, Norway, Qualifier 6. In Pribram, Czech Republic.
Group D: Germany, Denmark, Austria, Qualifier 5. In Fussen, Germany.
Group E: Sweden, France, Slovakia, Qualifier 4. In Sweden (city TBA).

Olympic Pre-Qualification Round 2 (October 2021)
Group F: Korea, Great Britain, Slovenia, Qualifier 8. In Gangneung, Korea.
Group G: Italy, Kazakhstan, Spain, Chinese Taipei. In Torre Pellice, Italy.
Group H: Netherlands, Poland, Mexico, Turkey. In Gdansk, Poland.

Olympic Pre-Qualification Round 1 (August 2021)
Group J: Iceland, Hong Kong, Bulgaria, Lithuania. In Reykjavik, Iceland.