Dates for Olympic Qualification
by Martin Merk|10 MAR 2021
The Czech Republic and Germany are the top-ranked teams not qualified yet for the 2022 Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament.
photo: Matt Zambonin / HHOF-IIHF Images
The dates for the qualification tournaments for the 2022 Olympic Winter Games’ women’s ice hockey tournament have been determined. The seven tournaments originally scheduled during the 2020/2021 season will happen between August and November 2021.

The top-6 teams of the 2020 IIHF Women’s World Ranking – USA, Canada, Finland, Russia, Switzerland, Japan – and host China are already qualified as previously announced while three spots in Beijing 2022 are up for grabs through the Olympic Qualification tournaments.

The Pre-Qualification Round 1 will be played in one group in the Icelandic capital of Reykjavik from 26 to 29 August 2021. Round 2 will take place in three groups in Korea, Italy and Poland from 7 to 10 October 2021 while the Final Olympic Qualification is set to be played in the Czech Republic, Germany and Sweden from 11 to 14 November 2021.

A record number of 34 women’s national teams have been entered for the 2022 Olympic Winter Games and the qualification tournaments.
Final Olympic Qualification (11-14 Nov.)
Group C Group D Group E
(in Pribram/CZE) (in Fussen/GER) (In Sweden)
Czech Republic Germany Sweden
Hungary Denmark France
Norway Austria Slovakia
Q6 Q5 Q4
Olympic Pre-Qualification Round 2 (7-10 Oct.)
Group F Group G Group H
(in Gangneung/KOR) (in Torre Pelice/ITA) (in Poland)
Korea Italy Netherlands
Great Britain Kazakhstan Poland
Slovenia Spain Mexico
Q7 Chinese Taipei Turkey
Olympic Pre-Qualification  Round 1 (26-29 Aug.)
  Group J  
  (in Reykjavik/ISL)  
  Hong Kong, China  

On the men’s side the Olympic Qualification started during the 2019/2020 season with the Final Olympic Qualification in Slovakia, Latvia and Norway moved to 26-29 August 2021. The top-8 countries of the 2019 IIHF Men’s World Ranking – Canada, Russia, Finland, Sweden, Czech Republic, USA, Germany, Switzerland – and host China are already qualified.
Final Olympic Qualification (26-29 Aug.)
Group D Group E Group F
(in Bratislava/SVK) (in Riga/LAT) (in Norway)
Slovakia Latvia Norway
Belarus France Denmark
Austria Italy Korea
Poland Hungary Slovenia

Click here for the full overview.