Terho to chair IOC Athletes’ Commission
by Martin Merk|06 AUG 2021
Emma Terho won six bronze medals in Olympics and Women’s World Championships.
photo: Mika Kylmaniemi / HHOF-IIHF Images
Former Finnish national team player Emma Terho has been elected as new chairwoman of the IOC Athletes’ Commission.

Following the election of the new members by the athletes at the Tokyo Summer Olympics, the IOC Athletes’ Commission held a meeting in Tokyo and elected former ice hockey player Emma Terho as new chairwoman and Seung Min Ryu (Korea, table tennis) as vice-chairman.

Terho, who is also a member of the IIHF Women’s Committee, is a two-time Olympic and four-time IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship bronze medallist with the Finnish women’s national team. She represented her country at Olympics and Women’s Worlds between 1998 and 2014.

Terho (nee Laaksonen), who played in the top Finnish league for Espoo for 15 years in addition to four years of NCAA hockey at the Ohio State University and one season for SKIF Nizhni Novgorod in Russia, was originally elected member of the IOC Athletes’ Commission for an eight-year term during the 2018 Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, Korea getting the most votes of all candidates and also became IOC Member.

She represented Finland in five Olympic Winter Games – every edition from the inclusion of women’s ice hockey in Nagano 1998 until 2014 – and in eight IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championships.

After 2014 she became active in the finance sector but remained connected to sports as first female board member of the Finnish Ice Hockey Association since 2014 and as a member of the IIHF Women’s Committee since 2016. Earlier she was also as chairperson of the Finnish Olympic Committee’s Athletes’ Commission.

At IOC level Terho is also a member of Coordination Commission for the 2022 Winter Olympic Games in Beijing and on the Olympic Programme Commission.