Three applicants for 2027
by Martin Merk|23 SEP 2022
Where will the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship trophy be handed in 2027?
photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
The International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) has received application letters to host the 2027 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship from three countries, in alphabetical order: Germany, Kazakhstan and Norway.
Germany applies for the 2027 edition with venues to be announced later following the end of the national bidding process. Germany hosted the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship eight times since 1930. Most recently Germany hosted in 2017 in Cologne together with the French capital of Paris. The last time Germany hosted the event alone was in 2010 when games took place in Cologne and Mannheim, with the opening game in the football stadium of Gelsenkirchen that at that time set a world-record attendance for an ice hockey game.
Kazakhstan has never hosted a top-level IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship before but has two large facilities in its bid with the 11,400-seat Barys Arena in Astana and the 12,500-seat Almaty Arena in Almaty. The Barys Arena is home to KHL team Barys Astana and hosted the 2019 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division I Group A. At that event, the Kazakh team earned promotion to the top division and has stayed there ever since. The Almaty Arena was opened for the 2017 Winter Universiade, where they hosted the ice hockey tournaments.
Norway is aiming for its third top-level IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship on home ice after hosting in Oslo in 1958 and in Lillehammer, Oslo and Hamar in 1999. The 2027 bid is planned in new locations and facilities. The Norwegian Ice Hockey Association is working on the details of the bid with Baerum and Trondheim as cities. In Baerum outside of Oslo, the Telenor Arena, an indoor football stadium, could be converted into a 14,000-seat ice arena. In Trondheim, the 8,600-seat Trondheim Spektrum was built in 2019 on the site of an old sports hall.
The three applicants will now work on the detailed bid project plan during the upcoming months followed by a bid presentation at the IIHF headquarters and a site visit. The 2027 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship will be allocated by the 2023 IIHF Annual Congress in Tampere, Finland in late May 2023.
The next editions of the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship have been assigned to:
  • Tampere, Finland & Riga, Latvia, 12-28 May 2023
  • Prague & Ostrava, Czechia, 10-26 May 2024
  • Stockholm, Sweden & Herning, Denmark, 9-25 May 2025
  • Zurich & Fribourg, Switzerland, 15-31 May 2026