Canadian women honoured
by Martin Merk|21 OCT 2022
Ann-Renee Desbiens accepts the award for the Best Female Team of Beijing 2022.
photo: William Lucas / ANOC
The Canadian national women’s team, which won gold in Olympic women’s ice hockey at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games in Beijing and more recently the 2022 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship, was honoured at the ANOC Awards 2022 in Seoul, Korea.

The Association of National Olympic Committees handed awards to athletes and teams for their outstanding performances at this year’s Olympics and Canadian goalkeeper Ann-Renee Desbiens was on-site in Korea to accept the award for the Best Female Team of Beijing 2022 on behalf of the Canadian women’s national ice hockey team.

The ANOC Awards winners for 2022 are:
  • Best Male Team of Beijing 2022: Sweden Men’s Curling Team (represented by Daniel Wilhelm Magnusson)
  • Best Female Team of Beijing 2022: Canada’s Women’s Ice Hockey Team (represented by Ann-Renée Desbiens)
  • Best Mixed Team of Beijing 2022: Nick Baumgartner and Lindsay Jacobellis
  • Best Male Athlete of Beijing 2022: Daeheon Hwang
  • Best Female Athlete of Beijing 2022: Eileen Gu
  • Outstanding Athlete Performance: Sven Kramer
  • Outstanding NOC of Beijing 2022: Chinese Olympic Committee
  • Contribution to the Olympic Movement: Sir Craig Reedie

The awards were attended by representatives from 180 National Olympic Committees and other stakeholders including IIHF President Luc Tardif.

The winners of each award were selected by the ANOC Jury, comprised of representatives from each of the Continental Associations, the ANOC Athletes’ Commission Chair, AIOWF President and ANOC Secretary General.