HHOF names 7 new inductees
by Andrew Podnieks|26 JUN 2024
The Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee announced the induction of seven new members to its list of honourees today in Toronto. The newest members are Shea Weber, Jeremy Roenick, Pavel Datsyuk, Natalie Darwitz, and Krissy Wendell-Pohl in the Player category and Colin Campbell and David Poile as Builders.
The induction ceremony will take place at the Hockey Hall of Fame on Monday, 11 November 2024.
Shea Weber
Weber was forced into retirement in 2021 thanks to a series of injuries, but he had a storied career both for Team Canada and in the NHL. In the former, he was a winner at every level. He helped his country win back-to-back Olympic gold medals in 2010 and 2014, won a gold and silver at the only two IIHF Ice Hockey World Championships he played at, won gold with the 2005 World Junior team, and was also part of Canada’s championship team at the 2016 World Cup of Hockey. Known for his ferocious slapshot, Weber played in 1,038 NHL games between Nashville and Montreal and took the Canadiens to the Stanley Cup finals during the Covid-shortened 2020-21 season.

Jeremy Roenick
Roenick is widely considered one of the best American-born power forwards. He represented the United States at two IIHF World Junior Championships, the 1991 Men’s World Championship, the 1991 Canada Cup, and two Olympics, winning a silver on home ice in 2002. Additionally, he played 19 NHL seasons with five teams, twice scoring more than 50 goals and retiring with 513 career goals.
Natalie Darwitz
Darwitz was inducted into the IIHF Hall of Fame just last month to honour a career that was second to none on Team USA during her era. From 1999 to 2010 she was a core member of the team, winning three Women’s Worlds gold medals and five silver in addition to three medals at the Olympics.

Krissy Wendell-Pohl 
Wendell-Pohl’s career overlapped with Darwitz, and the two become the third and fourth U.S. players in the Hockey Hall of Fame after Cammi Granato (2010) and Angela Ruggiero (2014). Wendell-Pohl started in 1999 as well and played until 2007, during which time she was one of the most feared scorers in the game. She was named Women’s Worlds MVP in 2005, the ground-breaking first gold medal for the Americans in WW history.

Pavel Datsyuk
Datsyuk won the Stanley Cup with Detroit in 2002 and again two years later. In all, he played 14 seasons in the NHL, all with Detroit, and was a premier two-way player, winning the Selke Trophy three times. In IIHF play, Datsyuk appeared in seven Men’s Worlds, winning four medals, and he also played in five Olympics between 2002 and 2018, culminating with a gold medal with OAR in his final appearance. That win earned him membership into the Triple Gold Club.

David Poile
Poile joins his father, Bud Poile, in the Hockey Hall. The senior Poile was inducted back in 1990. David Poile retired last year after decades in the game as a general manager, starting with Washington. He later moved to join the expansion Nashville Predators and guided them to their first Cup finals last year.

Colin Campbell
Campbell was a fourth-line player in the NHL for eleven seasons and four teams, and after being part of the New York Rangers’ Cup-winning team as an assistant coach he became head coach soon after. In 1998, he joined the NHL’s head office where he continues to serve as the director of hockey operations.