10 facts about the 2010 Olympic final
by Lucas Aykroyd|28 FEB 2020
Crosby's golden goal was watched by over 20 million Canadians. 
photo: Matthew Manor / HHOF-IIHF Images
When Sidney Crosby scored at 7:40 of overtime to lift host Canada to a 3-2 win over the U.S. in the 2010 Olympic men’s gold medal game, it was the biggest moment in Vancouver sports history. For some Canadians, it remains the high point in their nation’s 21st-century history.
These Olympics stir up so much nostalgia that John Furlong, the former CEO of the Vancouver Olympic Committee, recently suggested in a speech that British Columbia’s biggest city should bid to host the Winter Games again in 2030.
If, theoretically, such a bid was successful, “Sid the Kid” would be 42 when the first puck was dropped – the same age as Slovakia’s Zdeno Chara is now. Currently, Sapporo is the only city officially bidding for 2030, while Salt Lake City and Barcelona have also expressed interest to the IOC.
However, as we’re celebrating the 10th anniversary of the gold medal game, let’s look back 10 years at the marquee event in Vancouver. Here are 10 cool facts about the 2010 Olympic final.
1) With a crowd of 17,748 at Canada Hockey Place (now Rogers Arena), this remains the best-attended gold medal game in Olympic history.
2) There are 25 remaining active NHLers from the 2010 gold-medal game teams. Here is a breakdown by nation with players who have appeared in at least one NHL game in 2019-20.
Canada (13): Patrice Bergeron, Sidney Crosby, Drew Doughty, Marc-Andre Fleury, Ryan Getzlaf, Duncan Keith, Patrick Marleau, Corey Perry, Brent Seabrook, Eric Staal, Joe Thornton, Jonathan Toews, Shea Weber.
U.S. (12): David Backes, Dustin Brown, Erik Johnson, Patrick Kane, Phil Kessel, Ryan Miller, Zach Parise, Joe Pavelski, Jonathan Quick, Bobby Ryan, Paul Stastny, Ryan Suter.
3) Five players from the 2010 final are members of the IIHF’s Triple Gold Club, reserved for those who have won Olympic gold, IIHF World Championship gold, and a Stanley Cup.
Canada’s victory in Vancouver put Eric Staal into the club. Jonathan Toews joined later in 2010 when he captained the Chicago Blackhawks to the Stanley Cup. The others are Patrice Bergeron (2011 Stanley Cup), Sidney Crosby (2015 Worlds), and Corey Perry (2016 Worlds).
4) The 2010 Olympic men’s final is one of four IIHF gold medal games played at what’s now Rogers Arena. The other three include the 2006 World Junior final (Canada 5, Russia 0), 2010 Olympic women’s final (Canada 2, U.S. 0), and 2019 World Junior final (Finland 3, U.S. 2).
The 2010 final in Vancouver drew the highest attendance in Olympic ice hockey history. 
photo: Matthew Manor / HHOF-IIHF Images
5) Artifacts and highlights from the 2010 final can be viewed at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, the BC Sports Hall of Fame (located in BC Place Stadium, the venue for the Olympic opening and closing ceremonies) and the Richmond Olympic Experience (located at the Richmond Olympic Oval, which hosted 2010 long-track speed skating).
6) This was the first Olympic hockey final ever decided in sudden-death overtime. Sweden and Canada also went to sudden-death in 1994, but it was Peter Forsberg’s famous one-handed goal in the shootout that gave Tre Kronor the gold in Lillehammer.
7) 2010 was the first time an Olympic men’s gold medal was ever handed out on a North American-sized rink. With the 2008 IIHF World Championship in Quebec City and Halifax, the IIHF began using the 200-foot-by-85-foot surface for all tournaments played in North America, a tradition that continues.
Crosby scored the game-winning goal seven minutes and forty seconds into overtime.
photo: Matthew Manor / HHOF-IIHF Images
8) There was no shortage of famous people at the 2010 final.
Actors Michael J. Fox, William Shatner, and Vince Vaughan attended, along with singer Bryan Adams. Wayne Gretzky and Canadian prime minister Stephen Harper were spotted together, and retired Canadian hockey legends like Mark Messier and Gordie Howe took it all in.
As well, the Canadian women’s hockey team that had won gold three days earlier was on hand. U.S. speed skater Apolo Ohno and Canadian skeleton champ Jon Montgomery were among the other 2010 Olympians there.
9) Only one Team Canada gold medalist actually hailed from Metro Vancouver. Defenceman Brent Seabrook grew up in Tsawwassen, best-known as the site of the ferry terminal for Victoria departures.
10) On February 12, 2020, the Vancouver Canucks retired the jersey numbers of former NHL scoring champions Daniel and Henrik Sedin. Canuck teammates who came back for the Rogers Arena ceremony included Ryan Kesler, who scored the first U.S. goal in the 2010 final, and Roberto Luongo, who earned the win in net for Canada.
The victory gave Canada a record eighth Olympic men's ice hockey gold medal.
photo: Matthew Manor / HHOF-IIHF Images